hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Dedicated Server : HTTP keeps going down on one IP
Reply

Forum Jump

HTTP keeps going down on one IP

Reply Post New Thread In Dedicated Server Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:13 PM
disciple1 disciple1 is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 97

HTTP keeps going down on one IP


Hi,

I have a new server with SoftLayer and I have most of my accounts on a shared IP address. We do have our own store on a separate IP address. I am having LOADS of trouble with this. The store keeps going down while all the other sites on the shared IP address are fine.

Any ideas what could be causing this?

Thanks

Rick



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:16 PM
ayksolutions ayksolutions is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 3,379
Aren't SL's servers managed or semi-managed? Perhaps you should ask them to check it out? Otherwise its hard to tell as you need to post some more details regarding this.

__________________
AYKsolutions.com - 11+ Global Locations in LA, Phoenix, Denver, Dallas, Chicago, Atlanta, NYC, Europe & more
From Shared to Dedicated - 100TB/1Gbps/10Gbps plans, Cloud Servers, Colo & VPS available in US and EU - Optimized for Minecraft and Social/High Traffic Websites. DDOS Protection Now Available! Current Specials
Professional. Painless. Polite. All Managed.
- Like Us on Facebook.

  #3  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:25 PM
ntfu2 ntfu2 is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 304
Hey i have this same problem, and as we speak all my sites are down, not just my main shared IP.

I've logged a ticket there and am awaiting a answer

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:27 PM
ayksolutions ayksolutions is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 3,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntfu2
Hey i have this same problem, and as we speak all my sites are down, not just my main shared IP.

I've logged a ticket there and am awaiting a answer

Try running a ping via dnsstuff. There's something wrong with your server setup.

__________________
AYKsolutions.com - 11+ Global Locations in LA, Phoenix, Denver, Dallas, Chicago, Atlanta, NYC, Europe & more
From Shared to Dedicated - 100TB/1Gbps/10Gbps plans, Cloud Servers, Colo & VPS available in US and EU - Optimized for Minecraft and Social/High Traffic Websites. DDOS Protection Now Available! Current Specials
Professional. Painless. Polite. All Managed.
- Like Us on Facebook.

  #5  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:32 PM
ntfu2 ntfu2 is offline
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 304
Quote:
Ping to 66.xx.xx.xx

Generated by www.DNSstuff.com at 02:30:42 GMT on 07 May 2006.

status = "Getting ping results...";Pinging 66.228.115.243 [66.228.115.243]:

Ping #1: Got reply from 66.xx.xx.xx in 42ms [TTL=57]
Ping #2: Got reply from 66.xx.xx.xx in 43ms [TTL=57]
Ping #3: Got reply from 66.xx.xx.xx in 43ms [TTL=57]
Ping #4: Got reply from 66.xx.xx.xx in 43ms [TTL=57]

Done pinging 66.xx.xx.xx!
Odd, i should also add that i cant access via their SSL/VPN backend or IPMI right now either. Or reboot my server via the portal like before

  #6  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:42 PM
disciple1 disciple1 is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 97
I did have a ticket in with them over this and they said:

Quote:
The issue might be with the configuration of that domain, check the apache configuration and make sure everything is correct.

When I checked, the link from public_html folder to the www folder was broken for that domain. I just corrected that.
The Apache configuration is fine. So I don't know what else could be causing this.

  #7  
Old 05-06-2006, 11:04 PM
dotRoot dotRoot is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 576
I assume you are running Linux. SSH to the server and log in. Type:
Code:
ifconfig
It should tell you if that IP is up. If you do not see your other IP listed then your IP isn't set up.

If it isn't listed just type:
Code:
ifconfig eh0:1 <IP address> UP
It could be some sort of DNS slipup as well. I won't get into how the records should be created here, but just type:

Code:
service named restart
service httpd restart
The first restarts the DNS server assuming you do run one yourself and the second restarts Apache.


Good Luck!

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
WHIR Events Scottsdale was slammin’ Blog 2013-04-19 15:30:00
Important changes to WHIR Networking Events Europe schedule Blog 2013-04-15 16:00:16
WHIR Events 2013 Calendar: Updates and Changes Blog 2013-01-09 16:04:23
CloudBeat 2012 Web Hosting Events 2012-11-20 15:35:02
WHIR Events Europe, Ready for Take Off Blog 2012-05-18 15:33:32


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?