hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Other Forums : Web Hosting Lounge : Skype killed the internet.
Reply

Forum Jump

Skype killed the internet.

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Lounge Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2006, 11:34 AM
SoftWareRevue SoftWareRevue is offline
iNET Senior Community Advisor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 32,262

Skype killed the internet.


Okay. It only does it on one computer here.

When I run Skype on my main workstation, it runs 15-20 minutes and then wipes out my network.

I can run it for hours on any other computer on the network.

I ain't got a clue what could be up with this computer to cause this or even where to start looking.

Anyone got any ideas?

__________________
There is no best host. There is only the host that's best for you.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-23-2006, 11:36 AM
Tyler Tyler is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,453
I think it may have something to do with port forwarding, although I am not too sure. I would go here and find your router. According to Skype you will want to forward port 443 to your local IP.

__________________
Tyler Cole
Eeek, a Blog

  #3  
Old 04-23-2006, 11:49 AM
SoftWareRevue SoftWareRevue is offline
iNET Senior Community Advisor
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 32,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyler
..According to Skype you will want to forward port 443 to your local IP.
But I'm not even running a firewall on this computer.

I have no problems connecting to and using Skype. I have a problem using Skype over 15 minutes. Well, not so much a problem with Skype. Just a problem that Skype knocks out my network so I can't use anything.

__________________
There is no best host. There is only the host that's best for you.

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:46 PM
effusionx1 effusionx1 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 2,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoftWareRevue
But I'm not even running a firewall on this computer.
You may not be running a firewall on the computer, but it is most likely that there is an integrated firewall in your router. Look for virtual port forwarding or something equivalent. Your router should be on an IP such as:

192.168.0.1 (but this will differ)

Sorry if i'm telling you stuff you already know.

Jord

  #5  
Old 04-23-2006, 01:09 PM
Aussie Bob Aussie Bob is offline
Older than the Internet
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 23,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoftWareRevue
. . . Anyone got any ideas?
Squirrels.

__________________
AussieHost.com Aussie Bob, host since 2001
Host Multiple Domains on Fast Australian Servers!!

  #6  
Old 04-23-2006, 01:25 PM
Rich Rich is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 877
I knew Skype was up to something BIG...

And here it is ... their master plan..

Taking down SWRs internet... Damn you Skype!

  #7  
Old 04-23-2006, 02:01 PM
Tyler Tyler is offline
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoftWareRevue
But I'm not even running a firewall on this computer.

I have no problems connecting to and using Skype. I have a problem using Skype over 15 minutes. Well, not so much a problem with Skype. Just a problem that Skype knocks out my network so I can't use anything.
That is just crazy. If it's not port forwarding (even if it is, that's just weird), then I'm clueless.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aussie Bob
Squirrels.
It's not squirrels any more, it's the Robins!

__________________
Tyler Cole
Eeek, a Blog

  #8  
Old 04-23-2006, 02:05 PM
namelayer namelayer is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: here
Posts: 1,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aussie Bob
Squirrels.
lmao! there is now full throttle all over my keyboard.

__________________
-Dave

  #9  
Old 04-23-2006, 02:19 PM
Koopa Koopa is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: South England
Posts: 1,121
I opened this thread expecting to see Skype's master plan to invade the Internet...

  #10  
Old 04-23-2006, 02:39 PM
westcan westcan is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Western Canada
Posts: 1,888
Have you tried using an older version of skype on that one computer to try and isolate the problem?

__________________


  #11  
Old 04-23-2006, 05:16 PM
camers camers is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,958
Is there MORE then one skype connected on the network whilst this one has problems.

Or is there ONLY one other machine with skype connected?

__________________
It's Scott!

  #12  
Old 04-23-2006, 05:21 PM
KNL-BSW KNL-BSW is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 2,449
Hmm, can I guess Windows XP 32 Bit home or Pro with Service Pack 2 and you have more running in the background that is accessing the internet that just SKype?

  #13  
Old 04-23-2006, 05:24 PM
camers camers is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by l.stevens
Hmm, can I guess Windows XP 32 Bit home or Pro with Service Pack 2 and you have more running in the background that is accessing the internet that just SKype?
Doesnt take a genious to figure that one out!

  #14  
Old 04-24-2006, 12:55 AM
The Dude The Dude is offline
An Awesome Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 12,843
Thumbs down

Skype is horrible..........5 minutes or so on my computer and it locks it up,etc....

Its WAY OVER BLOATED NOW,uses too much memory............

If i can ever find a way to get the version i had running again (0.97.0.40) (My favorite version) Ill go back to it (That version BARELY ran on my computer)





__________________

Tinyurl is the answer for posting long urls!!!

  #15  
Old 04-24-2006, 01:48 AM
Matt -Seeksadmin Matt -Seeksadmin is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 419
Hey,

Ive got a beta version from 2004... dunno if thats around about the version you need (not familiar with their version timing). Give us a yell if you need it

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Telefonica-Owned VoIP Service Jajah to Shut Down in January Web Hosting News 2013-12-02 13:33:15
Outlook.com Adds Skype Integration for Inbox Calling Web Hosting News 2013-08-19 16:53:33
New Report Suggests Microsoft in Cahoots with NSA Blog 2013-07-12 11:32:22
Microsoft Mixes Business with Pleasure through Lync-Skype Connectivity Web Hosting News 2013-05-30 13:41:50
International Skype Traffic Grew 44 Percent in 2012: TeleGeography Report Web Hosting News 2013-02-13 14:27:20


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?