hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : DNS / nameservers
Reply

Forum Jump

DNS / nameservers

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 907

DNS / nameservers


I have four servers. Each server has its own ns nameservers
starting with server 1, ns1/ns2, server 2 has ns3/ns4 and so on.

I realized this is not the right way to go (aside that they all work at least).

Is this the right way to go (see below)? I'm using cpanel

Server 1 (hosting the actual parent domain)
ns1/ns2.hostdomain.com

In the dns zone for the parent (host) domain, add ns records (ns3, ns4, ns5, ns6, ns7, ns8) for the other 3 servers.

Is this correct?

On the other hand, say I wanted to use only ns1/ns2 for all servers. What is the proper method to doing this? Cluster enabled on all servers or not?

Please help me out. DNS is driving me nuts. Everyone seems to have their own ways lol.



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 515
Use ns1 and ns2 for all servers and cluster them all to that one server using the same IP address (cluster). You should be able to do this manually by replicating /etc/resolv.conf and /etc/nameserverips across all of the servers.

  #3  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 907
WHM has a cluster option. Would I simply use that?

If I were to use WHM's DNS cluster function, which server would be "standalone" and which would be "synchronized"?

Thanks in advance.

PS: anyway to avoid clients downtime if I were to change the ns3 and above to ns1/ns2 ?

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
If you have a common name server, if that server is down, all the server becomes useless. Even if they are not used or they are used very less, it is important to segregate your nameservers according to business models.

I feel it is right at this moment, apart from only hassle that, when you want to edit any entries, you need to remember which server it has to goto.

And for smaller loads, having common name server does not simplify your job at all, if you have S1 as everyone's dns and you have S2,S3,S4 without dns. If your S1 goes down, which is DNS, your all S2,S3,S4 becomes useless because no one will be able to connect to (there will be chances that people will still will be able to connect to S2,S3,S4 using their cached dns entries of ISP), but you wil not get new visitors. If your S2,S3,S4 or any of them are down, its no point having your DNS running on S1.

Unless you have huge loads and huge entries like 500+ entries on dns server, or you require same website to have mirrors on many servers, your setup i feel is correct.

__________________
- Akash Kava
My Blog
Web Atoms JS

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Namecheap DDoS Attack Impacts Free DNS and Default v2 Nameservers Web Hosting News 2014-02-21 11:43:51
MidPhase Launches Line of Managed Cloud Servers Web Hosting News 2013-05-15 13:47:19


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?