hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : How to stop hostname showing in ftp?
Reply

Forum Jump

How to stop hostname showing in ftp?

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 216
*

How to stop hostname showing in ftp?


Hi,
I have got a big problem. My resellers as they sell for more than us, we give them their own ip's for nameservers and tell them to set up a catchall email address so that their customers can't see who we are but now we have got another problem the writing that comes up when you connect to ftp says our hostname. I tried renaming it to something anonimous like plesk.server.net but the email stopps working when I do this !
So is there a way to change the text so that it doesn't show our hostname?? And if not, is there a way to change the hostname to somthig that doesn't exist without stopping the email from working????

Please help it is urgent !!!

hoot



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Fool about Town
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Madras
Posts: 737
hoot,

The hostname is a serious thing and it is what identifies your server - so dont go changing it. Also if you need Apache to start your hostname should resolve to your server IP - which means you need zone records for your hostname in your DNS

If your domain is ninja.com and you want to call your server foo.ninja.com and your server's primary IP is 1.2.3.4 then you need an A record in your DNS that resolves foo.ninja.com to 1.2.3.4

If you are using ProFTPd then you can edit proftpd.conf and set

ServerIdent Off [or No cant remember] and your hostname wont show in FTP

Cheers
Balaji

__________________
Offering Managed Servers - for an exclusive clientèle who value uptime, caring support and superior technology.

  #3  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 216
thanks I've just tried serverident off and it removes the PROFTP thing but still says :

< 220 plesk.mydomain.com FTP server ready.

I have read on www.proftpd.org that you can specify the message and put for example :

ServerIndent "Ftp server ready"
to not show the hostname but I've tried this and I can't connect to ftp afterwards !
any ideas?

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Junior Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 216
ANy thanks, I've found the solution and fixed it :
The is the code you are supposed to use :

ServerIdent on "Ftp server ready"

You just put it at the bottom of the proftpd.conf file which is in /usr/local/psa/ftpd/etc/

I hope this helps anyone with the same problem as me

hoot

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Lance Crosby Lends His Voice to IBM Cloud Commercial Blog 2014-04-14 15:11:29
WiredTree Listing 2014-10-20 21:44:49
What Web Hosts Can Do About Revenge Porn Web Hosting News 2014-05-09 12:40:18
Crowdfunded NSA Video Calls for Action Against Government Spying Blog 2013-10-18 10:02:14
Why You Should Embrace Google Plus Blog 2013-03-08 09:18:17


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?