hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : External DNS Service???
Reply

Forum Jump

External DNS Service???

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2006, 01:42 PM
Dr. Bogger Dr. Bogger is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 71

External DNS Service???


Hello,

I just setup a server with webmin & virtualmin on my personal network, with my ISP...

My ISP only gives me 1 IP address, so i think in order to use domain name, i gatta use a external DNS service?

Keep in mind, my Internet is behind a Broadband Router, so i am using Internal IP Addresses on my server. For example: eth0 is on 192.168.1.103, and eth0:1 is on 192.168.1.110

How would i route a domain name to an internal IP address?

Please Advise

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-21-2006, 02:00 PM
jpetersen jpetersen is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 439
There's lots of free external DNS hosts out there, http://www.no-ip.com being one of them. In order to route traffic to an internal host, you will need to set up port forwarding on your Broadband Router to forward all incoming traffic destined for port 80 to the internal address of your choice, where the server exists.

There are guides on portforward.com for various routers that will walk you through setting up the forwarding.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2006, 02:04 PM
Dr. Bogger Dr. Bogger is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 71
Hello,

I have DMZ setup for the server on eth0 (192.168.1.103)

That should forword all traffic to the server, but here my problem:

all domain names would forword to the only ip address provided by my ISP... now lets say i have 2 virtual hosts, "domain1.com, and domain2.com", each account is on a different Internal IP address, one is on 192.168.1.110, other is on 192.168.1.111, how would i make the domain names goto each of those internal IP address, to be able to display the correct website?

For example: domain1.com goes to 192.18.1.110 and domain2.com goes to 192.168.1.111

Please Advise.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 03-21-2006, 03:53 PM
Dr. Bogger Dr. Bogger is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 71
nevermind, ill just use shared IP address...

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Cloudnexion Listing 2014-07-25 11:24:28
HackerNinja LLC Listing 2014-07-25 11:24:24
Bacula4Hosts Inc Listing 2014-07-25 11:24:53
DoanVPS Listing 2014-07-25 11:23:33
Remly Communications Listing 2014-07-25 11:24:50


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?