Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: GD install

  1. #1

    GD install

    I give up

    can anybody tell me what to do to get GD library work on my server?

    I have Red Hat, and I installed GD (.configure, make, install..etc..)
    now what?
    do I have to do something with PHP, Apache...or what?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HK
    Posts
    3,082

    Smile

    Yes, compile PHP with GD support ~

  3. #3
    yes but how?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    5,597
    Well, have a look here.

  5. #5
    huh

    overkill for me

    is there any step by step guide

  6. #6
    install PHP
    ╠══ Cool Wallpapers ══╡
    ║►►► Optimize your website

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    2,979
    PHP comes with it's own GD libs. You just need to compile with it enabled. Use the following configure option:

    --with-gd
    -Mark Adams
    www.bitserve.com - Secure Michigan web hosting for your business.
    Only host still offering a full money back uptime guarantee and prorated refunds.
    Offering advanced server management and security incident response!

  8. #8
    nice
    but
    what --with-gd
    ?

    I never compiled PHP... as I told you, I need step by step instruction... It seems to be very simple but when you never done it before it becomes complicated.

  9. #9
    Use these steps to manually compile php with GD support. Lets go about it in 2 phases, first compiling GD library and then compiling PHP with support for GD.

    Compiling GD library support
    ========================

    1. SSH to the server

    2. Download gd source tarball
    $ wget http://www.boutell.com/gd/http/gd-2.0.33.tar.gz

    3. Untar it and compile GD.
    $ tar -xzf gd-2.0.33.tar.gz
    $ cd gd-2.0.33
    $ ./configure
    $ make
    $ make install

    Compiling PHP with GD support
    =========================

    1. Check current php configuration by running the following php script on the browser under any domain hosted on the server.
    <?
    phpinfo();
    ?>

    2. Take a backup of libphp4.so which is the DSO module for Apache-Php to be used in case the compilation fails due to some reason.The path specified is based on assuming an Apache installation at /usr/local/apache.

    $ cp /usr/local/apache/libexec/libphp4.so /usr/local/apache/libexec/libphp4.so.bkp

    3. Wget the required php version source from php.net

    4. Untar the source file.

    5. To compile the version php version 4.4.3

    $ cd php-4.4.3/

    Run ./configure with your required configuration. You may use the existing one which can be got from phpinfo and append '--with-gd' to it as below

    $ ./configure --with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs --with-xml --enable-bcmath - -enable-calendar --enable-ftp --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysql --with-pear --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --enable-versioning --with-zlib --with-gd

    $ make

    $ make install

    This will overwrite /usr/local/apache/libexec/libphp4.so with the latest one. Make sure that its updated by checking the modified date of the file.

    6 . Restart apache

    7. Check the PhpInfo by calling the script on the browser and make sure GD support is available there.

    Best Regards,
    Rose
    rose@instacarma.com
    Regards,
    Rose [rose@instacarma.com]
    InstaCarma.com
    24x7 Technical Support and Server Management

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,179
    I'm supprised no one has asked what control panel you're using?
    Rob Greenwood
    RedHat Certified, Unix Consultant
    http://www.linkedin.com/in/bilco105

  11. #11
    hi

    thank you very much.... I done it with your help

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    302
    It is very easy under whm/cpanel. Just go software update->update apache and make sure checkbox gdlib is check. cpanel will compile it for you. I assume you use cpanel

  13. #13
    Glad to know that you got GD installed and working!

    Regards,
    Rose
    rose@instacarma.com
    Regards,
    Rose [rose@instacarma.com]
    InstaCarma.com
    24x7 Technical Support and Server Management

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    2,979
    Quote Originally Posted by InstaCarma_Rose

    snip

    $ ./configure --with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs --with-xml --enable-bcmath - -enable-calendar --enable-ftp --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysql --with-pear --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --enable-versioning --with-zlib --with-gd

    snip
    Those instructions don't require the first part where you compile GD because you're not telling PHP to use the GD that you just compiled, so PHP (since v4.3) will just use the included one. You would need:

    --with-gd=path-to-gd
    -Mark Adams
    www.bitserve.com - Secure Michigan web hosting for your business.
    Only host still offering a full money back uptime guarantee and prorated refunds.
    Offering advanced server management and security incident response!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    india
    Posts
    14
    Hello,

    I have installed php 4.4.2 wiht GD on fedora 4. But when i see in phpinfo it only show gif, png but not jpeg and cause of this imagecreatefromjpeg() function is not working how i can install jpeg of gd

    i tried all the way but no luck. If anyone can help me that would be great

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    2,979
    You need to compile php with this param:

    --with-jpeg
    -Mark Adams
    www.bitserve.com - Secure Michigan web hosting for your business.
    Only host still offering a full money back uptime guarantee and prorated refunds.
    Offering advanced server management and security incident response!

  17. #17
    Dear InstaCarma_Rose ,
    I had GD 2.0.28 installed on the server ... When I upgraded The PHP and MySQL to 5.1.4 and 4.1.19 ..

    I didn't know how to compile them with GD ... I followed your instructing to Compile and hence the GD is works fine ...

    But ...
    The problem is when ever I tried to install the new version of GD ... it isn't install I don't know why even after compiling ...

    The version is still stopping in :
    2.0.28

    Why dear ?

  18. #18
    There maybe some incompatibility issues with the old gd libraries and the new version that you are trying to install. What is the exact error that you are getting at the point the compilation is failing?
    Also before the reinstall, do a "make clean" and "make distclean" before you actually do the "make" so that it can remove the stale files from the previous install.
    Regards,
    Rose [rose@instacarma.com]
    InstaCarma.com
    24x7 Technical Support and Server Management

  19. #19
    Still dear ...
    Still on 2.0.28 version !

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,681
    Try configuring gd with:

    cd gd-2.0.33
    ./configure --prefix=/usr/local
    make
    make install


    then configure php with:

    --with-gd=/usr/local
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

  21. #21
    Dear Steven ...
    Really Thanks for helping me ...

    After compiling GD with PhP ... I typed :
    make

    it shows me at end of process :
    make: *** [sapi/cli/php] Error 1

    ans same with :
    make install

    ?

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,681
    Did you make clean before retrying it?
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

  23. #23
    I'll do it now ...

    only make clean ?

    what about make distclean ?

  24. #24
    Dear ..
    I just found strange problem :
    When I compile gd with php by using :
    ./configure --with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs --prefix=/usr/local --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --enable-ftp --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysqli --with-mysql=/usr --enable-discard-path --with-pear --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --with-zlib --with-gd=/usr/local --with-jpeg=/usr/local

    or

    ./configure --with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs --prefix=/usr/local --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --enable-ftp --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysqli --with-mysql=/usr --enable-discard-path --with-pear --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --with-zlib --with-gd=/usr/local

    after typing make and make install it shows :
    make: *** [sapi/cli/php] Error 1

    But when I Use :
    ./configure --with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs --prefix=/usr/local --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --enable-ftp --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysqli --with-mysql=/usr --enable-discard-path --with-pear --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --with-zlib --with-gd --with-jpeg

    or

    ./configure --with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs --prefix=/usr/local --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --enable-ftp --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysqli --with-mysql=/usr --enable-discard-path --with-pear --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --with-zlib --with-gd

    after typing make and make install it shows :
    build complete

    What is wrong dear ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •