hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Server Advice: DL385
Reply

Forum Jump

Server Advice: DL385

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2006, 05:48 AM
sweathers sweathers is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26

Server Advice: DL385


Hey all,

Just become the proud owner of my first real production server. It is a DL385, AMD 252 (2.6 GHz) Opteron, 1GIG RAM etc etc. Full specs: http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/q.../12162_na.HTML

I would like some advice on what I need to do prior to installing an OS. Specifically, the sorts of benchmarks, stress test and reliability tests to be sure it is ready for production.

I imagine this would take the form of a process that you all go through before using a server. My experience in this area extends to running a Memtest.

Also, any general advice would be great.

Thanks,
Jim

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-23-2006, 08:04 AM
FHDave FHDave is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 5,122
Why only 1 GB? Consider increase the memory to at least 2 GB.

__________________
Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
Equinix Secaucus NY2 and NY4 (NYC Metro)

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2006, 06:05 PM
sweathers sweathers is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Thats the plan. I'm assuming I can just buy any DDR 400 ECC RAM, and put it in with the supplied stuff? And does it matter if I get 1G sticks, and the current one is two 512mb? Does this server run dual DDR?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 02-23-2006, 06:43 PM
FHDave FHDave is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 5,122
Brand name Servers like DL385 or PE2650/2850 usually only take memory modules in pair. So you may need to buy additional 2x512 MB modules.

__________________
Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
Equinix Secaucus NY2 and NY4 (NYC Metro)

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2006, 08:12 PM
sweathers sweathers is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Okey, we'll I'll probably buy them in pairs of 1GB then, and use the existing 512MB sticks elsewhere.

Where can I find information, such as what are the matched slots, and how one should lay out 4GB in this particular server?

Thanks for the help thus far.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2006, 11:23 PM
lchan lchan is offline
Temporarily Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 56
Wow. I'm planning to order some DL385s this weekend, and upgrading them to suit my needs since it'll be more economical. They seem to be nice machines. How do you like yours?

HP's RAM prices are ridiculously expensive. You can get specifications at http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/q.../12162_na.HTML.
I think you can order 4 1GB PC3200 registered ECC sticks, and then place a pair in each of the memory slot clusters. Nevertheless, there's the manual.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-23-2006, 11:27 PM
sweathers sweathers is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
So far so good, but I haven't had an OS on it yet. I've got no drives.
We picked up the server as a refurbished unit, about $2500 AUD.

Brings me to my next point; I've got Seagate SCSI HDD's, but I haven't got any caddys. Can you buy these seperately, and where from? I can't find a HP part number for them.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-23-2006, 11:47 PM
trau trau is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: South Daytona, FL
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweathers
Brings me to my next point; I've got Seagate SCSI HDD's, but I haven't got any caddys. Can you buy these seperately, and where from? I can't find a HP part number for them.
You can get hotswap trays at http://www.thetrayman.net/item102089.ctlg

Just be certain your Seagate SCSI drives have the correct SCA interface for the backplane.

__________________
"Arms discourage and keep the invader and plunderer in awe, and preserve order in the world as well as property... Horrid mischief would ensue were the law-abiding deprived of the use of them." - Thomas Paine

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-23-2006, 11:53 PM
trau trau is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: South Daytona, FL
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweathers
I would like some advice on what I need to do prior to installing an OS. Specifically, the sorts of benchmarks, stress test and reliability tests to be sure it is ready for production.

I imagine this would take the form of a process that you all go through before using a server. My experience in this area extends to running a Memtest.

Also, any general advice would be great.

Thanks,
Jim

The Smartstart CD has diagnostics you can run on all the components. After assembly the first thing I do on HP servers is verify all the ROMS (Bios, SCSI firmware, NIC firmware, RAID Firmware, iLO firmware, etc) are at current levels, flash as needed. Then run a quick diag that all components are good and then install and patch the OS. Finally I run baseline benchmarks for future reference (troubleshooting).

__________________
"Arms discourage and keep the invader and plunderer in awe, and preserve order in the world as well as property... Horrid mischief would ensue were the law-abiding deprived of the use of them." - Thomas Paine

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-24-2006, 01:07 AM
sweathers sweathers is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
This is just what I was interested in. Apart from SmartStart, are there other utilities I should be aware of? How do you benchmark the server?

It will be a Win2k3 server.

Cheers,
Jim

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-24-2006, 01:10 AM
sweathers sweathers is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Bugger, turns out the Seagate drives are like desktop PATA ones. They have a seperate power plug, and are definately the wrong size for what I can see the server accepts.

Are there adapters?

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-24-2006, 01:39 AM
FHDave FHDave is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 5,122
These SCSI drives are 80 pins SCA drives. Don't buy the 68 pin drives.

__________________
Fluid Hosting, LLC - HSphere Shared and Reseller hosting - Now with HIGH AVAILABILITY
Fluid VPS - Linux and Windows Virtuozzo VPS - Enterprise VPS with up to 2 GB guaranteed memory!
Get your N+1 High Availability Enterprise Cloud
Equinix Secaucus NY2 and NY4 (NYC Metro)

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-24-2006, 02:38 AM
sweathers sweathers is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Complete wrong drives. Grr.

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-25-2006, 10:03 AM
sweathers sweathers is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Can you use non HP RAM in these?

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-25-2006, 12:18 PM
trau trau is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: South Daytona, FL
Posts: 2,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweathers
Can you use non HP RAM in these?
Yes, I have often used ram from crucial on HP servers with no issues at all. Any of the major ram companies will list the server and the proper ram for it. Ramember you will need to buy it in pairs and a small amount of the capacity will be lost to the advanced error correction feature.

__________________
"Arms discourage and keep the invader and plunderer in awe, and preserve order in the world as well as property... Horrid mischief would ensue were the law-abiding deprived of the use of them." - Thomas Paine

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Nominet Pilot Program Hopes to Help SMBs Combat Cyber Threats with Support, Advice Web Hosting News 2014-02-07 15:12:39
Total Server Solutions Buys Its Second Web Host in Three Months: Hands-On Web Hosting Web Hosting News 2014-01-09 11:29:23
Rackspace Launches Free Cloud Assessment Tool for Windows Server 2012 Migration Web Hosting News 2013-07-31 13:27:03
1&1 Internet Launches New TLD Portal, Dynamic Cloud Server Web Hosting News 2013-07-02 11:04:23
WHD.global 2013: OnApp Shares Cloud Best Practices through New Website Web Hosting News 2013-03-19 07:33:08


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?