hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Domain Names : Transfer from GeoCities to GoDaddy... DOMAIN TRANSFER FAILED ???
Reply

Forum Jump

Transfer from GeoCities to GoDaddy... DOMAIN TRANSFER FAILED ???

Reply Post New Thread In Domain Names Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Question

Transfer from GeoCities to GoDaddy... DOMAIN TRANSFER FAILED ???


Trying to transfer a domain from GeoCities to GoDaddy...

--- GeoCities says: ---
Yahoo!'s partnership with Melbourne IT allows us to provide you
with all the tools you need to maintain your domain yourself from
your Domain Control Panel.

---

The domain at GeoCities is NOT locked, and I see no way to make
inactive ... via the GeoCities Domain Control Panel...

--- but, GoDaddy says: ---
DOMAIN TRANSFER FAILED - Status Not Valid...
the current status of the above domain name(s) is:
ACTIVE,
Domain names in this status cannot be transferred.
Please contact your current registrar to resolve this issue.

---

What's next? I've sent email to domain.tech -at- yahoo-inc.com but yahoo is notoriously a black hole...


Last edited by GeoFan49; 01-29-2006 at 04:47 PM.


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
From ... webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?threadid=403291

Quote:
Originally Posted by boylan13
...

"DOMAIN TRANSFER FAILED - Status Not Valid."

In the body of the notification messages, it says:

"the current status of the above domain name is:
ACTIVE,

Domain names in this status cannot be transferred. Please contact your current registrar to resolve this issue."

...

-Chris
Looks like a similar problem... But that one is inconclusive... I wonder how it got resolved...


Last edited by GeoFan49; 01-29-2006 at 04:46 PM.
  #3  
Old
Ex-Hoster
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 763
when did you register or renew your domain name on geocities?

__________________
Kind regards

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
It was registered on Nov 30, 2005 with GeoCities ...

GoDaddy is processing the switch on day 61 ...

  #5  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
... and it was GoDaddy's transfer system that sent me the email today that said I could initiate the transfer.

  #6  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
I guess we need to wait another day and try it again. Could be the 60/61 day bug at GoDaddy?

I thought they should have fixed that by now...

  #7  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,018
If you check the Registry of that extension, what does its status say?

Chances are just give it some time, 24 hours more or less.

  #8  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 275
With some of my godaddy names it tooks a few tries to eventually get them out.

  #9  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
Tried again today, same result...

Status: ACTIVE

But the GoDaddy transfer won't go.

  #10  
Old
Web Hosting Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 522
System seems configured to be automatically denying the transfers as seen on many other domain registrars. The main purpose is to discourage unauthorized transfers but sometimes it is also used to get a hold on to customers. Try requesting Yahoo/Geocities to allow the transfer from their system.

__________________
Name123.com [ We are online Since 2004! ]
Cheapest Domain Registration & Reseller Services!
ENOM Domain Reseller Account with Lowest Industry Prices! (Details)
Plus Excellent Technical Support Along The Way!

  #11  
Old
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 12
OK, maybe it was the 60/61/62 day bug with GoDaddy...

The request finally got processed on day 62...

Now, it should work...

===

GoDaddy now says:

Domain Transfer Details

...
Actions:

Status Description:
A transfer request for this domain has been submitted to your current registrar. We are waiting for approval. This process should be completed in 5-7 business days. You will be notified by email when the approval is received. Please check with your current registrar for more information.

===

  #12  
Old
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 132
I thought you couldn't transfer domains from Yahoo...or is this with brand new names?

  #13  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 5,400
You cannot transfer TO you can however transfer AWAY

__________________
Domain Maven

  #14  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 323
I transfer many name to godaddy, most take like three to for days

  #15  
Old
Web Hosting Guru
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 275
Just make sure the name is not locked. Godaddy has the smoothest transfer system around

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
UK Police Continue Crackdown on Pirated Content with Torrentz.eu Domain Name Suspension Web Hosting News 2014-05-26 12:30:38
GoDaddy Listing 2014-10-22 09:45:10
GoDaddy Listing 2014-10-22 09:45:08
GoDaddy Listing 2014-10-22 09:45:08
Go Daddy Blocks Whois Info on Expiring Domains, Protects Domain Auction Business Web Hosting News 2012-11-14 11:20:35


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?