hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : Spammer Alert
Reply

Web Hosting Discussions on all aspects of web hosting including past experiences (both negative and positive), choosing a host, questions and answers, and other related subjects. If your service is unavailable, please click here.
Forum Jump

Spammer Alert

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2006, 02:45 PM
gearworx gearworx is offline
Anti "stay away from"...
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,070

Spammer Alert


Yet another idiot attempting to the spam the world:

1F169t-0001F5-CC-H
nobody 99 32003
<email@servername.com>
1138039877 0
-deliver_firsttime
-body_linecount 48
-auth_id nobody
-local
-allow_unqualified_sender
-received_protocol local
-ident nobody
-allow_unqualified_recipient
-auth_sender email@servername.com
XX
1
jianxinqi@hotmail.com

161P Received: from nobody by gear-l20.Servername.com with local (Exim 4.52)
id 1F169t-0001F5-CC
for jianxinqi@hotmail.com; Mon, 23 Jan 2006 10:11:17 -0800
026T To: jianxinqi@hotmail.com
078* Subject: Great gift idea- find out how you could get a designer purse on us
018 MIME-Version: 1.0
044 Content-type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1
049R Reply-To: Designer Gift
<offers@mylexicons.com>
045F From: Designer Gift
<offers@mylexicons.com>
064I Message-Id: <E1F169t-0001F5-CC@gear-l20.Servername.com>
038 Date: Mon, 23 Jan 2006 10:11:17 -0800
090 X-Servername-MailScanner-Information: Please contact the ISP for more information
052 X-Servername-MailScanner: Found to be clean
045 X-Servername-MailScanner-SpamCheck:
078 X-Servername-MailScanner-From: email@servername.com
076 Subject: Great gift idea- find out how you could get a designer purse on us

Name: John Carrington
Company: Moultrie Ecommerce
Email: moultrieinc@gmail.com

Used PayPal for the monthly sign-up.

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-23-2006, 05:44 PM
ByteMaster ByteMaster is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,422
Thanks for the heads up!

__________________
||| Mike Bowers - Marketing Director
||| atOmicVPS LTD (Launching Soon)
||| OnApp Powered Linux & Windows Cloud Hosting ► [Shared] ► [Reseller] ► [VPS]
||| Follow the atOmicVPS LaunchPad Start-Up Blog until Beta Launch - February 1st 2012

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2006, 05:45 PM
njean njean is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: WHT!
Posts: 584
thank you!

__________________
NetJaguar , LLC: the roaring hosting!
Created for beginners, perfect for pro's!
Direct Admin with Installatron - Linux Hosting - try us before you pay


Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 01-23-2006, 05:54 PM
markjut markjut is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,734
lol - thanks

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2006, 06:28 PM
AYS-RobG AYS-RobG is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 144
Thanks
*adds characters to make minimum post length*

__________________
Arhineus.com - Hinny's World

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2006, 08:17 PM
ScottJ ScottJ is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,356
He has tried signing up with me a few times. Never got any emails out.

__________________
Eleven2 Web Hosting - World-Wide Hosting, Done Right!

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2006, 02:53 AM
net-trend net-trend is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,520
I think I posted about this guy before. He seems to be hitting everyone he can.

__________________
Net-Trend.com - Full featured multi domain hosting solutions.
RevoServe.com - Low cost multi domain hosting solutions. [Legal adult content friendly]
Reliable web site hosting is our motto. We have Alertra stats to back that up.
Proven provider of high quality shared and reseller accounts since 2002.


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2006, 03:03 PM
SROHost SROHost is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lake Arrowhead, CA
Posts: 789
Update 09/01

Name: Aurelius Enterprise
Email: referapal@gmail.com
Domain: carmel8.com

Signed up via Paypal on 09/01/06. View whois for carmel8.com for more info.

Note: Same customer signed up to host 'convivialgroup.com' in December 2005. Account was deactivated a few days after signup when remote mailer scripts were uploaded.


Last edited by SROHost; 09-01-2006 at 03:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-01-2006, 03:09 PM
2Macs Jim 2Macs Jim is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 666
Thanks for the heads up gearworx.

__________________
Jim - 2Macs H-Sphere Web Hosting
Since 2001 - H-Sphere Clustered Shared Linux & Windows Hosting
Fully Managed Services| Custom Web Designs
Unconditional, 30 Day Money back Guarantee!

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-01-2006, 03:29 PM
sgarbus sgarbus is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 2,626
This thread was created in January.

Time for a closing?

Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-01-2006, 03:37 PM
2Macs Jim 2Macs Jim is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 666
Yes it was, then updated today.

__________________
Jim - 2Macs H-Sphere Web Hosting
Since 2001 - H-Sphere Clustered Shared Linux & Windows Hosting
Fully Managed Services| Custom Web Designs
Unconditional, 30 Day Money back Guarantee!

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-01-2006, 06:10 PM
TurbulentMedia TurbulentMedia is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: The Server Rooms :)
Posts: 163
Yaye for us!
They just attempted to sign up for service on one of our shared platforms, but failed the tripple anti-fraud checks we use.. Good stuff..

I'm thinking this is another case of someone trolling around WHT looking for their next victim..
SROHost, do you have a partial IP address on their signup today?

__________________
Michael Rosati, TurbulentMedia Founder
Shared/Reseller/Semi-Dedicated/ TeamSpeak Hosting
█ Certified Authorize.net Merchant Services

Toll-free sales and support - 1.800.746.0611

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-01-2006, 07:37 PM
1 & 1 = 3 1 & 1 = 3 is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Manchester (UK)
Posts: 34
Why not a full IP address? These spammers don't deserve any protection, do they?

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-01-2006, 07:49 PM
TurbulentMedia TurbulentMedia is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: The Server Rooms :)
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1 & 1 = 3
Why not a full IP address? These spammers don't deserve any protection, do they?
Because, as many in this industry with some knowlege of how spammers work their magic, there is a very real possibility of:

A. The spammer used a proxy to sign up (Another server's IP Address)
B. The spammer used a dial-up ISP to sign up (AOL/NZ/whatever..)

So, letting the world know the full IP address, when in all likelyhood that another person is now using that IP address (that isn't trying to cause trouble) could spell alot of trouble for an innocent person.

Letting us know the IP block, and not the full IP, will at least allow other providers to be more careful for a day or two (or more) of signups coming from whatever company owns that block...

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-01-2006, 08:58 PM
rocketcity rocketcity is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hsv, AL
Posts: 49
I'm glad I saw this tonight. This person signed up with us earlier today. Looks like we will be closing the account right away. He used two email adddresses with us.

Name: Aurelius Enterprise
Email: referapal@gmail.com
2nd Email: aureliusinc.winn@gmail.com
Domain: cassarole.com


Thaks for the heads up.

__________________
Fast, Reliable Hosting Rocket City Hosting

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Cloud Security Firm Alert Logic Q4 Revenue up 45 Percent Over 2010 Web Hosting News 2012-01-20 15:15:38
Cloud Security Provider Alert Logic Names Vice President of Product Management Web Hosting News 2012-01-10 18:15:47
Cloud Security Firm Alert Logic Names VP of Business Development Web Hosting News 2011-09-20 13:43:14
Security Firm Alert Logic Compliant with PCI Approved Scanning Vendor Guidelines Web Hosting News 2011-08-23 20:27:51
Web Host SunGard Offers Alert Logic Security Solutions Web Hosting News 2011-08-04 17:33:45


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?