hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Tracking this 2 email
Reply

Hosting Security and Technology Configuring and optimizing web hosting servers and operating systems, developing administration scripts, building servers, protecting against hackers, and general security (SSL certificates, etc.)
Forum Jump

Tracking this 2 email

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2005, 01:26 PM
hardjoko hardjoko is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 993

Tracking this 2 email


Can anyone tells me the IP address of these 2 emails. Also how can I know which one is their ISP? These people make an anonymous slanderous campaign that's simply factually incorrect.

Email 1:
Return-path: <johnjoint1@yahoo.co.uk>
Envelope-to: teguh@teguhbudimulia.com
Delivery-date: Tue, 08 Mar 2005 11:13:33 -0600
Received: from web26505.mail.ukl.yahoo.com ([217.146.176.42])
by may.nosdns.com with smtp (Exim 4.43)
id 1D8iGx-0005B6-CU
for teguh@teguhbudimulia.com; Tue, 08 Mar 2005 11:13:32 -0600
Received: (qmail 45111 invoked by uid 60001); 8 Mar 2005 17:13:30 -0000
Message-ID: <20050308171330.45109.qmail@web26505.mail.ukl.yahoo.com>
Received: from [202.156.2.58] by web26505.mail.ukl.yahoo.com via HTTP; Tue, 08 Mar 2005 17:13:30 GMT
Date: Tue, 8 Mar 2005 17:13:30 +0000 (GMT)
From: John Joint <johnjoint1@yahoo.co.uk>
Subject:
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="0-1513030081-1110302010=:42005"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
X-Antivirus-Scanner: Clean mail though you should still use an Antivirus


Email 2:
Received: from web32113.mail.mud.yahoo.com ([68.142.207.127])
by prserv.net (in1) with SMTP
id <2005050505114210103v8g9oe>; Thu, 5 May 2005 05:11:42 +0000
X-Originating-IP: [68.142.207.127]
Received: (qmail 36984 invoked by uid 60001); 5 May 2005 05:11:42 -0000
Comment: DomainKeys? See http://antispam.yahoo.com/domainkeys
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws;
s=s1024; d=yahoo.com;
b=LvRZol6IsA0yNM3wEML6W1vT8Cu6wyfCtZ70DnwX2Aw27qDtas52KDUuxCRFXJhEiamLPQjDEv4NDa3UooAYrDCSJhPD+RDGUts0uFPyRq02tbHQm+RWlt1WMbCdFux57YtQTubln+7jOxomfyPt sAg17WXImtTpghqS/fGAN04= ;
Message-ID: <20050505051141.36982.qmail@web32113.mail.mud.yahoo.com>
Received: from [210.193.2.75] by web32113.mail.mud.yahoo.com via HTTP; Thu, 05 May 2005 06:11:41 BST
Date: Thu, 5 May 2005 06:11:41 +0100 (BST)
From: anthony yap80 <yap80_anthony@yahoo.com>
Subject: -- - REQUEST FOR REFUND
To: yap80_anothony@yahoo.com
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="0-1046950477-1115269901=:34715"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit

__________________
How to Learn Math

Reply With Quote


Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-22-2005, 01:41 PM
hardjoko hardjoko is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 993
Correction, the second email might actually belong to someone trying to help us.

__________________
How to Learn Math

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2005, 01:50 PM
cyberxhost cyberxhost is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Can you explain how the second email might be trying to help us?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 12-22-2005, 03:13 PM
chris_jon chris_jon is offline
WHT Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 171
I'm afraid there's no way we can find out about those emails other than the fact that they originated from Singapore.
See these IPs' WhoIs Report here...

http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=202.156.2.58
http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=210.193.2.75

However, its also possible that the email user has used a public proxy to cover his trails, so Singapore might be a false alarm.
Its just impossible to trace someone using just a single IP, keeping in mind the wide-spread use of public proxies & anonimizers.

__________________
Chris

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2005, 11:57 PM
hardjoko hardjoko is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 993
What I mean is the email 2 belongs to a person trying to give header information of the culprit. However, he gives his own header information instead.

__________________
How to Learn Math

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-23-2005, 12:15 AM
hardjoko hardjoko is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 993
I'll tell more to you guys, but because this is still an investigation we can't blab alot till we nail the culprit. I doubt the culprit is smart enough to check wht though.

__________________
How to Learn Math

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-23-2005, 06:06 AM
cyberxhost cyberxhost is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
why do they do that in the first place?

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-23-2005, 12:58 PM
hardjoko hardjoko is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 993
Envy. The root of all evil.

When somebody is succesful, someone somehow will say it's wrong. Then they'll come up with all the ******** to fight.

__________________
How to Learn Math

Reply With Quote
Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
50dae337-dae4-44bb-8bd2-23d945a79962 Listing 2013-03-05 18:24:34
50bf8d11-27e8-4dd4-9920-72e745a799de Listing 2013-03-05 18:23:19
50bf8d11-89d4-40ef-ab63-72df45a799de Listing 2013-03-05 18:25:55
Security Firm EdgeWave Launches Hosted Messaging Security Suite Web Hosting News 2011-08-16 14:13:30
The Lesson of the Ten, with Jeff Hardy Web Hosting News 2011-08-08 22:12:01


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?