
12-19-2005, 07:54 PM
|
|
WHT Addict
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 104
|
|
look at this hosting company...
http://www.webioi.com/
"unrestricted" bandwidth... then when you rollover it says whatever its limits are...
dont you find this a bad practice...
let me hear your two cents on this...
|

12-19-2005, 07:59 PM
|
|
Froggy Support
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,384
|
|
It looks like there are restrictions. 5gb/month for starter, 15gb/month plus, etc.
|

12-19-2005, 08:05 PM
|
|
WHT Addict
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 104
|
|
yea isnt that lame? Its like having a "No Money Down" and then changing it to "No, money Down"
|

12-19-2005, 08:14 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Rockstar
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 3,487
|
|
I think the wording is just being deceptive, because "unrestricted" could mean that you can use it all in a day if you wanted to and have nothing left for the rest of the month. Though, it may not technically be a "bad practice", it definately needs to be clarified on the site.
|

12-19-2005, 08:38 PM
|
|
New Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
|
|
hidden information... bad bad.
|

12-19-2005, 08:43 PM
|
|
Performance Specialist
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 10,341
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by bvhosting
hidden information... bad bad.
|
definitely a sign that would make me stay away from this host . . .
__________________
MediaLayer, LLC - Lightning fast web hosting since 2005. Ask about our new pure SSD storage platform!
›› First and leading provider of LiteSpeed based hosting combined with enterprise grade hardware.
›› Free Account Migrations, Custom Solutions, and Servers in US, EU, and Asia
›› Our Application Hosting plans outperform the typical VPS. Ask us about special offers on yearly plans!
|

12-19-2005, 08:44 PM
|
|
Retired Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: EU - east side
Posts: 21,920
|
|
Someone there has read too many marketing books. They can really affect your thinking. 
|

12-19-2005, 09:53 PM
|
|
WHT Addict
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 173
|
|
They have a purdy template.  Yes, I agree that's a bad practice. Generally it's good to stay away from hosts that promise unlimited/unrestricted/etc. bandwidth.
|

12-20-2005, 01:14 PM
|
|
WHT Addict
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 162
|
|
Just goes to show that some people are out there to steal a quick buck. It's companies like this one that add so much speculation to the industry.
__________________
fuse9 LLC
-General Manager-
www.fuse9.net
Webhosting, Reseller Hosting, Now offering VPS!
|

12-20-2005, 03:07 PM
|
|
The Geek is coming
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,103
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by ldcdc
Someone there has read too many marketing books. They can really affect your thinking. 
|
Agreed, just another marketing scheme.
__________________
■█► WireNine.com ► 8+ years in business!
■█► Shared Hosting, Reseller Hosting and VPS Hosting ► 24/7 Support ► 99.9% Uptime ► 60 Day Money Back Guarantee
■█► cPanel, Litespeed, CloudFlare, Softaculous, Attracta SEO, Site Builder
■█► Find us on Facebook and follow us @wirenine
|

12-20-2005, 06:38 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Guru
|
|
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Belgium/europe
Posts: 319
|
|
is it just me or:
when I click "sign up" and redirected to a signup page with the image of geotrust stating the page is secure but It still says HTTP
where the S ? 
|

12-20-2005, 08:47 PM
|
|
Retired Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: EU - east side
Posts: 21,920
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by psykik
is it just me or:
when I click "sign up" and redirected to a signup page with the image of geotrust stating the page is secure but It still says HTTP
where the S ? 
|
The first few steps are indeed not secured. The page where you're asked to introduce the card details is though.
|

12-21-2005, 12:47 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Guru
|
|
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Belgium/europe
Posts: 319
|
|
aha 
I didn't went that far 
|

12-21-2005, 01:30 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,422
|
|
Seems like false advertising to me!
__________________
||| Mike Bowers - Marketing Director
||| atOmicVPS LTD (Launching Soon)
||| OnApp Powered Linux & Windows Cloud Hosting ► [Shared] ► [Reseller] ► [VPS]
||| Follow the atOmicVPS LaunchPad Start-Up Blog until Beta Launch - February 1st 2012
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
| Postbit Selector |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Login: |
|
|
| Advertisement: |
|
|
| Web Hosting News: |
|
|
|