Gaming Server Help -- No Idea -- COD2

Hello,

I am looking to set up a server for my clan in COD2, so there would only be one server running.

What type of computer should I be looking for if I am looking for 32 slots? 64 slots?

Thank You and also if there is anyone that would recommend some companies it would be great.

Bogdan

http://LightSpeedGaming.com
    LightSpeed Gaming is currently having a special for COD2 servers at $2.00/slot.

Although they used to be one of our competitors, they do an awesome job. I know both the owners and have played with them in the past. They've been around for almost 2 years now. I think they also developed their own control panel, http://raptor.light-speed.com which looks awesome.

I can manage my own servers I have extensive knowledge in Linux and Windows.... I just need some hardware specs for 32 slot and 64 slot... Then i can get a server from like layeredtech or hivelocity and set it up there... (maybe get a panel)

thanks for the info tho 2/slot is a bit much

Are you thinking of just hosting (1) 32 Slot and/or (1) 64 Slot and asking what specs are required for them, or are you thinking of hosting multiple ones.

https://www.layeredtech.com/orderFra...ageID=897&g=13 would be sufficient enough for your needs.

BTW: $2.00/slot is under the norm for gamehosts so actually, it's not expensive at all. If it was another gamehost offering $2.00/slot, I would be worried.

I am thinking of hosting 1 32 slot or/and(if there is room) 64 slot

BTW they need to be public so i donno if it increases the requirements

also ... is linux or windows a better fit?

A Single P4 with 1GB Ram should do you fine for one instance of COD. The OS you choose should be the one you are most comfortable with.