Pay for download solution

Hi all,

I hope my questions are not too simple. I am a sysadmin and not a web person. This all is out of my league.

I have a client who is looking to charge for data downloads and also sell physical merchandise. There will also be some “buy on the web and pick up in person” transactions such as event registrations. At some point they might want POS terminals so the system should be built with that in mind. The material is not adult oriented so there is no worry about being turned away by providers. There is a rather lot of content though. Well over 100GB and growing all the time.

They currently have a custom storefront that they believe to not be compliant with all the laws and regulations (PCI?). They process credit cards through Authorize.net and VeriSign. They are well a well established company with merchant accounts and all that.

We have been told that unless we use a company such as MonsterCommerce we must have third party audits. Is that right?

MonsterCommerce doesn’t seem like a good match since we would have to host many gigs of files on their servers (which I doubt they would appreciate) or do some kludged email thing. Neither seemed good to me.

How would you go about setting this up? I was thinking that a basic hosting account (LiquidWeb perhaps) with any shopping cart would do. Are there good modules available for controlling downloads? I figured there must be for the shareware sellers. Would we really need to do audits? The powers that be seem to think that we would have to have the corporate network audited. That seemed *really* wrong to me.

TIA,

Dan

I've used OSCommerce for pay per download sales and it's worked fairly well for me. It also integrates with most payment processors, so you wouldn't have to change any of that.