Bandwidth question

I am new to colocation and bandwidth. I normally see hosts giving 1000gb of bandwidth per month. I am looking to colo a server and see many use mbit. How do you covert that to gb/month. Also what does unmetered mean compaired to metered?

Joseph

Here is a handly little tool to use. It will convert both ways.
    http://www.crnc.net/network/bandwidthconversion/
    courtesy of the nice fellows at crnc.

thanks. Does anyone have an explination why? I am more intrested in the math of it.

Joseph

I mostly think some companies use it, cuzz it makes you guess more, or it space on the website.

Really, the math is basicly like this:

#of Mbits X 364 = #of GBS. But becareful about that becuse some companies only do 300 and not 364. So really you should ask sales about how much a Mbit is worth in Gigibytes, or else you could calculate ur self wrong.

As far as companies used Unmerted, its basicly where your not capped off to a certain amount of GB. Most servers use 1000-2000 GBS on average so companies do not have to worry about it.

But where msot companies get ya is how they cap off your speed to the network, or they oversell their network resource to where you get the speed of 100-300 kbs. ITs anther thing to watch out for is the speed on servers.

maybe that helps you!

That does help. Thanks a lot.

If it is unmetered why do they have like 10mbit unmetered and other speeds?

Good Question, it makes no sense lol

Hosts giving 1000-2000GB/month are usually offering dedicated servers. They bank on the fact that the majority of their clients will not even come close to the 1000-2000GB/month so technically, it can be considered overselling in a sense.

Colocation tends to be more geared towards those who know what they will use so it tends to be a bit more pricey for bandwidth, when compared to those of dedicated servers. Because colocation clients tend to know what they will need, they will most likely use most of what they purchased.