Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: HLDS problem

  1. #1

    HLDS problem

    Alright, i thoroughly searched google and these forums for the answer to this problem. I'm having crazy problems here. I just got a new computer and decided to just install debian on it and run hlds off of it for cstrike. I set it all up, updated it, and ran it (./hlds_run -game cstrike -sv_lan 0 +maxplayers 12 +map de_dust) I went to portforward.com and other sites and i have correctly forwarded my ports to the right computer on my LAN. I'm 99.8% sure the ports are forwarded right because i had to do it for the teamspeak server (which is on the computer and working) The problem is when i run the above command to launch the server it auto gives me the loopback address of the computer. When specify the +ip 192.168.0.108 (the address of the server on my lan) it works too, but when i specify my public IP it says cannot allocate port 27015, but this port is opened and forwarded on my router. Here is the output when i specify the 3, sorry if this takes up too much forum space....

    [email protected]:~/hlds$ ./hlds_run -game cstrike +maxplayers 12 +map de_dust
    Auto detecting CPU
    Using AMD Optimised binary.
    Auto-restarting the server on crash

    Console initialized.
    scandir failed:/home/bob/hlds/./platform/SAVE
    Protocol version 47
    Exe version 1.1.2.5/Stdio (cstrike)
    Exe build: 15:16:29 Nov 11 2005 (3213)
    STEAM Auth Server
    couldn't exec language.cfg
    Server IP address 127.0.0.1:27015
    scandir failed:/home/bob/hlds/./platform/SAVE

    Adding master server 207.173.177.11:27010
    Adding master server 69.28.151.178:27010
    Connection to Steam servers successful.
    VAC secure mode is activated.


    This is where i specify the LAN addresss

    [email protected]:~/hlds$ ./hlds_run -game cstrike +ip 192.168.0.108 +maxplayers 12 +m
    ap de_dust
    Auto detecting CPU
    Using AMD Optimised binary.
    Auto-restarting the server on crash

    Console initialized.
    scandir failed:/home/bob/hlds/./platform/SAVE
    Protocol version 47
    Exe version 1.1.2.5/Stdio (cstrike)
    Exe build: 15:16:29 Nov 11 2005 (3213)
    STEAM Auth Server
    couldn't exec language.cfg
    Server IP address 192.168.0.108:27015
    scandir failed:/home/bob/hlds/./platform/SAVE

    Adding master server 207.173.177.11:27010
    Adding master server 69.28.151.162:27010
    Connection to Steam servers successful.
    VAC secure mode is activated.

    And finally, when i specify my Public IP address

    [email protected]:~/hlds$ ./hlds_run -game cstrike +ip 12.210.156.152 +maxplayers 12 +
    map de_dust
    Auto detecting CPU
    Using AMD Optimised binary.
    Auto-restarting the server on crash

    Console initialized.
    scandir failed:/home/bob/hlds/./platform/SAVE
    Protocol version 47
    Exe version 1.1.2.5/Stdio (cstrike)
    Exe build: 15:16:29 Nov 11 2005 (3213)
    STEAM Auth Server
    couldn't exec language.cfg
    WARNING: UDP_OpenSocket: port: 27015 bind: Cannot assign requested address
    FATAL ERROR (shutting down): Couldn't allocate dedicated server IP port 27015.
    Add "-debug" to the ./hlds_run command line to generate a debug.log to help with
    solving this problem
    Fri Jan 4 12:02:18 EST 2002: Server restart in 10 seconds
    Fri Jan 4 12:02:23 EST 2002: Server Quit


    Again, sorry for taking so much page space. If you have time my AIM is xxbobrulesxx, and once I resolve this problem I'll post the resolution on this forum so others with the same problem will have help in the future.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Fleet Street
    Posts
    3,243
    [email protected]:~/hlds$ ./hlds_run -game cstrike +ip 192.168.0.108 +maxplayers 12 +m
    ap de_dust

    That seems to work fine - are there multiple IPs bound or just one? Because this should work...what is the problem after you exec it with that?

  3. #3
    The problem is people cannot connect to it, yea, the LAN address one will work, but the purpose of the server is for Internet games. When i the IP as my LAN address outside people can't connect....

    Any idea's let me know, again, i'm running a somewhat fresh install of debian

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Fleet Street
    Posts
    3,243
    Are you sure that the ports are being forwarded from 192.168.0.108? This is definitely a problem with your ports & forwarding.

    EDIT: I think Steam also requires a couple other ports to be opened, although I may be wrong about this. Check the Steam website for that info.

  5. #5
    My router address is 192.168.0.1, so I'm forwarding all needed ports from there to the HLDS on 192.168.0.108. Like i said, I'm 99.8% sure these are rights, doubled check many times and have MANY ports open that different sites say steam servers need.

  6. #6
    There's your problem:
    WARNING: UDP_OpenSocket: port: 27015 bind: Cannot assign requested address
    FATAL ERROR (shutting down): Couldn't allocate dedicated server IP port 27015.
    Add "-debug" to the ./hlds_run command line to generate a debug.log to help with
    Try to kill all hlds processes and only start when u use ur public ip

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Fleet Street
    Posts
    3,243
    That's his public IP, it would probably give him that message anyway. I just sort of assumed he didn't have any other HLDS processes running.

  8. #8
    The error means that the port 27015 was already in usage.

  9. #9
    it is difficult to host game servers behind routers. Find the port that steam needs opened. I think you might also get better help from www.steampowered.com.
    GameWarrior.net - Bringing Gaming To The Next Level
    GamingMonkeys.com - Come Play Fun Flash Games !

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Oxford, England, UK
    Posts
    828
    Has anyone though of the simple question: is the IP even assigned to that server (via ifconfig?) Remember with linux a port forward is not enough like with Windows, the IP must be assigned to an eth0 interface as well server side.

  11. #11
    "My router address is 192.168.0.1, so I'm forwarding all needed ports from there to the HLDS on 192.168.0.108. Like i said, I'm 99.8% sure these are rights, doubled check many times and have MANY ports open that different sites say steam servers need."

    This makes me feell ike they are trying to host this server off their own windows computer.

    Try enabling DMZ server to the IP you are trying to host the server.
    GameWarrior.net - Bringing Gaming To The Next Level
    GamingMonkeys.com - Come Play Fun Flash Games !

  12. #12
    Trying to run HLDS first with the public IP didn't work... Alex Fernandez... that sounds exactly like the problem, how do i do this? Please let me know, i'm somewhat of a linux noob so if i'm going to have to edit a config file let me know where it's at and exactly how to edit it. Thanks


    DMZ didn't work, thats why i'm thinking assigning eth0 my publick IP (which is dynamic by the way) will work

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Fleet Street
    Posts
    3,243
    Can you paste the output of 'ifconfig'?

  14. #14
    ifconfig

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:8D:A6:2F:7B
    inet addr:192.168.0.108 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:199635 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:106040 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:281990433 (268.9 MiB) TX bytes:7205715 (6.8 MiB)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0xa000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:560 (560.0 b) TX bytes:560 (560.0 b)

  15. #15
    Can you ping google.com for example ?

  16. #16
    Yes, i can ping google.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Oxford, England, UK
    Posts
    828
    Quote Originally Posted by xxbobrulesxx
    ifconfig

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:8D:A6:2F:7B
    inet addr:192.168.0.108 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:199635 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:106040 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:281990433 (268.9 MiB) TX bytes:7205715 (6.8 MiB)
    Interrupt:11 Base address:0xa000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:560 (560.0 b) TX bytes:560 (560.0 b)

    Yes, you dont have the enternal IP address bound, go read: http://www.comptechdoc.org/os/linux/...bindingip.html

  18. #18
    anyone know how to do ths for debian? Those commands aren't working for me...

  19. #19
    Ok, did this by /sbin/ifconfig eth0:1 xx.xxx.xxx.xxx But now it can't connect to steam servers..... So many problems... here is the output

    [email protected]:~/hlds$ ./hlds_run -game cstrike +map cs_assault +ip 12.210.156.152
    +maxplayers 14 -autoupdate
    Auto detecting CPU
    Using AMD Optimised binary.
    Auto-restarting the server on crash
    Updating server using Steam.
    Checking bootstrapper version ...
    Updating Installation
    Checking/Installing 'Counter-Strike Base Content' version 16

    Checking/Installing 'Linux Server Engine' version 26

    Checking/Installing 'Half-Life Base Content' version 8

    HLDS installation up to date

    Console initialized.
    scandir failed:/home/bob/hlds/./valve/SAVE
    scandir failed:/home/bob/hlds/./platform/SAVE
    Protocol version 47
    Exe version 1.1.2.5/Stdio (cstrike)
    Exe build: 15:16:29 Nov 11 2005 (3213)
    STEAM Auth Server
    couldn't exec language.cfg
    Server IP address 12.210.156.152:27015
    scandir failed:/home/bob/hlds/./valve/SAVE
    scandir failed:/home/bob/hlds/./platform/SAVE

    couldn't exec listip.cfg
    couldn't exec banned.cfg
    Adding master server 69.28.151.162:27010
    Adding master server 207.173.177.11:27010
    Could not establish connection to Steam servers.
    VAC secure mode disabled.
    Fri Jan 4 16:31:41 CST 2002: Server Quit

    [email protected]:~/hlds$ ./hlds_run -game cstrike +map cs_assault +ip 12.210.156.152
    +maxplayers 14 -exec server.cfg -autoupdate
    Auto detecting CPU
    Using AMD Optimised binary.
    Auto-restarting the server on crash
    Updating server using Steam.
    Checking bootstrapper version ...
    Updating Installation
    Checking/Installing 'Counter-Strike Base Content' version 16

    Checking/Installing 'Linux Server Engine' version 26

    Checking/Installing 'Half-Life Base Content' version 8

    HLDS installation up to date

    Console initialized.
    scandir failed:/home/bob/hlds/./valve/SAVE
    scandir failed:/home/bob/hlds/./platform/SAVE
    Protocol version 47
    Exe version 1.1.2.5/Stdio (cstrike)
    Exe build: 15:16:29 Nov 11 2005 (3213)
    STEAM Auth Server
    couldn't exec language.cfg
    Server IP address 12.210.156.152:27015
    scandir failed:/home/bob/hlds/./valve/SAVE
    scandir failed:/home/bob/hlds/./platform/SAVE

    couldn't exec listip.cfg
    couldn't exec banned.cfg
    Adding master server 69.28.151.162:27010
    Adding master server 207.173.177.11:27010
    Could not establish connection to Steam servers.
    VAC secure mode disabled.


    ****About 1 min later****

    cminterface.cpp (733) : Assertion Failed: m_hConnectionTCP



    Anyone got any ideas on how to fx ths? And anyone know how i could bnd this dhcp address so that iit auto binds everytime start my comp

  20. #20
    It seams like you screwd up your ifconfig. Make a reboot to the server.
    ifconfig is really dangerous thing, u can **** everything up with your mistake

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    3,479
    Another note, when you specify +ip some.ip you need to specify an IP that is actually bound to an interface on the box. If you're on a LAN and your local IP is 192.168.1.100, this is the IP you specify there. NOT your external IP address.

    A good read would be: http://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/re...ateway.en.html

  22. #22
    The issue was that it actually "was" working when i set the address as a lan one, the reason i thought it didn't was because www.gametiger.com said it didnt exist. Thank's everyone for the help =D

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    459
    The first error to do with the Address being in use is probably because you already have the HLDS running there. The error that you got there after you started it is to do with the platform having a bug which was just fixed, you should run the steam update tool to fix that.

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Oxford, England, UK
    Posts
    828
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Armstrong
    Another note, when you specify +ip some.ip you need to specify an IP that is actually bound to an interface on the box. If you're on a LAN and your local IP is 192.168.1.100, this is the IP you specify there. NOT your external IP address.

    A good read would be: http://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/re...ateway.en.html
    Not for an internet servers you dont, as you need to have it accepting things from outside the network, hence the linux box needs to have the external ip bound, and hence why it must be +ip external.ip

    Its to much bother to run servers on linux behind a router

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •