Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    523

    Is a P3 enough for a photo hosting website?

    I recently rented a 128MB ram VPS from Unixshell. And by the time I configured the server and loaded all my programs on the server. The load started jumping all over the place. It started out at .30 and anytime a cronjob would run the load would spike the server to 2.0 load. Some cron jobs run every 5 minutes. The only website on the server is a static page. The server is running Centos 4.2, and when I reboot the server I get a warning saying the server dosent have enough memory. It says Centos 4.2 recomends at least 256MB of ram.

    I was on ebay and found and bought a P3 933MHZ 512MB of pc133 ram and a 15GB hard drive. I went to newegg and bought a 40GB hard drive for it. My question is will this server be enough to run a free photo sharing website on it? I will only be hosting one website on the server. I want to keep the Photo Sharing website off of my regular server. And I am getting a deal on the bandwidth, its only going to cost me $39.99 for 1mbps per month to run the server.




  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    364
    No it wont.. unless you're only planning to host 10 images.

    Get a decent server.. like a Pentium 4 2.8GHz with 512MB or MORE RAM.

    Mini

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    10,574
    Quote Originally Posted by Mini
    No it wont.. unless you're only planning to host 10 images.

    Get a decent server.. like a Pentium 4 2.8GHz with 512MB or MORE RAM.

    Mini
    Are you serious?

    The P3 server is absolutely perfect for his needs. P3s are NOT slow, have you ever even used a P3? They're little workhorses.
    MediaLayer, LLC - www.medialayer.com Learn how we can make your website load faster, translating to better conversion rates for your business!
    The pioneers of optimized web hosting, featuring LiteSpeed Web Server & SSD Storage - Celebrating 10 Years in Business

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    3,640
    I have a P3 1Ghz as a desktop here and it's doing PERFECTLY for what I need it for. Why get something bigger than what you need? The only thing I might suggest is use a lighter webserver software, like thttpd as Apache is probbably going to be a bit of a hog on that system dependent on RAM.
    Simpli Networks, LLC :: http://www.simplinetworks.com :: Proudly 100% Owned.
    Providing Affordable Managed Cloud/VPS Servers & Server Management Solutions.
    We offer REAL 24x7x365 in-house support - proudly serving our customers since 2005!
    Want to learn more? Give us a call - +1 (844) 4SIMPLI or email sales[@]simplinetworks.com today!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    3,640
    Quote Originally Posted by Mini
    No it wont.. unless you're only planning to host 10 images.

    Get a decent server.. like a Pentium 4 2.8GHz with 512MB or MORE RAM.

    Mini
    I've seen a P3 800 do a heck of alot (100Mbps+) worth of connectivity with almost no load created (granted, this was Helix streaming).
    Simpli Networks, LLC :: http://www.simplinetworks.com :: Proudly 100% Owned.
    Providing Affordable Managed Cloud/VPS Servers & Server Management Solutions.
    We offer REAL 24x7x365 in-house support - proudly serving our customers since 2005!
    Want to learn more? Give us a call - +1 (844) 4SIMPLI or email sales[@]simplinetworks.com today!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    334
    Erm, there really isnt enough information there to know whether those specs will be enough. If the site is all static and not busy, sure that could be fine. If its php+database and busy, it might not be. What do you expect your traffic to be like, how many photos do you intend to host, etc etc?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    523
    The script I am looking at is just php driven. Its a bran new website so there is no traffic, but I expect to get alot of traffic in no time flat. (I do not know what alot is but other websites of this nature are breaking well over 100k page views a month) Its going to be a totaly free service. I just do not want to run it on my main webserver.

    Wouldnt the P3 933MHZ with 512MB of ram run better than a 512MB of ram VPS? After all the website will have all of the servers total resources. I planned on running the website on a VPS but after some testing I am not too impressed with a VPS.

    If the website takes off and starts to make alot of money I will buy a new server for it. Right now its just not worth dumping $1,000+ into a server for a website that has $0 income. I payed $130 for the P3 server, plus $49 for the 40GB hard drive. If this website fails I will just use the server for a secondary DNS server.

    P.S. I was just wondering, how many php page requests do you think the server will be able to handle before it crashes and burns? A rough guess will do.


    Last edited by Soulwatcher1974; 11-24-2005 at 08:21 AM.

  8. #8
    Use lighttpd rather than apache, I have seen P4s handle upwards of 4000 continuss connections using lighttpd, so a P3 should easily be able to handle the load. Installing something like eaccelerator will also help speed things up a little.
    crucialparadigm - Affordable, Reliable, Professional :
    Web Hosting
    24/7 Support Web Hosting Reseller Hosting Cloud/VPS Plans Dedicated Servers

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    59
    p3 will be more then enough.. I have a customer that has a colocated G3 400MHZ that hosts about 3million images per month for ebay clients.. also has a ameiga 2000 doing most of actually image hosting work..


    I thought he was crazy.. but works wonders..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    49

    light web servers

    Hello,

    And PIII 256 MB memory will be enough, if there static pictures only will be. Only need to use light webserver, not a apache. Like nginx or lighttpd or 0w.

    We create high speed solution based on nginx, usually and using lighttpd.

    Best Regards,
    Dmitry.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    523
    Thanks to all that replyed I am looking forward to using this server. It should be here on Tuesday.



  12. #12
    We have dozens of (IBM xSeries 342) Dual P3/1400's w/2gb pushing 30-35Mbit ASP traffic on 2k3std. You will have absolutely no problem with this configuration. Enjoy the box.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    4,612
    Quote Originally Posted by Mini
    No it wont.. unless you're only planning to host 10 images.

    Get a decent server.. like a Pentium 4 2.8GHz with 512MB or MORE RAM.

    Mini
    Sure it will. Pentium 3's still make excellent servers, even today, especially at 933Mhz. Most people don't realize it, but P3 processors get more done per clock cycle than P4. They're also very stable chips.

    If anything, you might want to add another 512MB of RAM to bring it up to 1GB, but depending on your traffic levels, 512MB should be fine.
    Scott Burns, President
    BQ Internet Corporation
    Remote Rsync and FTP backup solutions
    *** http://www.bqbackup.com/ ***

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •