Unhappy programmer disappeared

While moving our site, and setting up a third party DNS account with DNSMadeEasy, our programmer disappeared! Unfortunately, I have NO experience in this. I have read the tutorials, and the posts on this board, but I'm afraid I don't understand some of the terminology...and I am completely lost! Neither our current host, nor the new host will help since we are planning to use a third party DNS.

The site is running on our current host, and the files have already been copied (and tested) to the new host. We will be keeping the current host A as the backup site in case the new host B goes down for some reason.

Does anyone have the patience to walk a total neophyte thru the process of setting up our DNSMadeEasy Failover account correctly? Your help will be greatly appreciated!

Thank you.........

Moved to Technical & Security Issues. If someone here can help this member, it will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Lois
    Do you have a WHT question or concern? Please open a helpdesk ticket.

"Do what you can, where you are, with what you have." Theodore Roosevelt

Welcome to WHT!

Did you get all of your files moved over correctly to your new host? This would probably want to be your first step, is to make sure everything is moved over correctly and its ready for "prime time".

I've never used DNSMadeEasy, but I believe these are correct (if they aren't, then someone please correct me ).

Login into your account, choose 'Secondary DNS only', and choose Add. Then enter your domain information including the nameserver's IP. To find your IP most of the time you can simply whois your site (http://whois.sc/yourdomain.com), and then it will show you the IP.

I haven't used cPanel/WHM in a few months nor do I have access to one anymore. But does this help you at all? You would want to enter your DNSMadeEasy Nameserver as your last ones and keep the first ones intact.

I hope this helps
    Tyler Cole
    Eeek, a Blog