Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    godaddy.com webhosting

    ive recently brought the economy plan from there.

    my main aim is to setup invision board discussion board.

    just wanted to know if this hosting was php enabled?

    cause when ever i re-direct the url to a .php to start the process of installing the boards it just comes up with the goddady error :/

    anyone know how or why?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Providence, RI
    Posts
    1,512
    Quote Originally Posted by dansolo
    just wanted to know if this hosting was php enabled?
    You might get a better explanation on the problems by contacting GoDaddy directly. For the above question though, according to their website, the plan includes PHP support. Therefore, you will be able to run PHP scripts just fine.

    What kind or "godaddy error" you see on the screen? Elaborate more might give us an idea where to help.

    Oh yeah, btw, welcome to WHT

  3. #3
    i'm dealing with godaddy as a host right now and i'd like to shoot them.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Eric Lim
    You might get a better explanation on the problems by contacting GoDaddy directly. For the above question though, according to their website, the plan includes PHP support. Therefore, you will be able to run PHP scripts just fine.

    What kind or "godaddy error" you see on the screen? Elaborate more might give us an idea where to help.

    Oh yeah, btw, welcome to WHT
    thanks for you reponse and tips, ill look around their site now

  5. #5
    Their support is horrible, it takes days to get their response.
    Good luck with your vb installation dansolo.
    Easy Image Hosting - http://easyimagehosting.net
    Your ultimate image hosting

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    3,102
    Yes, GoDaddy.com does offer PHP.
    Daniel B., CEO - Bezoka.com and Ungigs.com
    Hosting Solutions Optimized for: WordPress Joomla OpenCart Moodle
    Data Centers in: Chicago (US), London (UK), Sydney (AU), Sofia (BG), Pori (FI)
    Email Daniel directly: ceo [at] bezoka.com

  7. #7
    for some reason it doesnt load any .php extension files

    do i have to enable something on their cpanel?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    3,102
    I'm not sure on that, as I've never used their hosting services - just done competitive comparison!

    I would recommend contacting their support, although I would call instead of emailing. Whenever I have to send an email about my domains there, it takes a day or two for them respond. The call is toll, but you do get help pretty fast that way.

    Good luck!
    Daniel B., CEO - Bezoka.com and Ungigs.com
    Hosting Solutions Optimized for: WordPress Joomla OpenCart Moodle
    Data Centers in: Chicago (US), London (UK), Sydney (AU), Sofia (BG), Pori (FI)
    Email Daniel directly: ceo [at] bezoka.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    597
    Quote Originally Posted by dansolo
    for some reason it doesnt load any .php extension files

    do i have to enable something on their cpanel?
    I dident know they used cpanel.....

    and if they are using cpanel, you dont have to do anything... maybe your making a mistake somewhere?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    3,102
    I don't think they do use cPanel. I think he was just using that as a generic term!
    Daniel B., CEO - Bezoka.com and Ungigs.com
    Hosting Solutions Optimized for: WordPress Joomla OpenCart Moodle
    Data Centers in: Chicago (US), London (UK), Sydney (AU), Sofia (BG), Pori (FI)
    Email Daniel directly: ceo [at] bezoka.com

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by erinplaysdead
    i'm dealing with godaddy as a host right now and i'd like to shoot them.


    Would you mind going a little bit more into detail on what you don't like about GoDaddy?
    A Collection of Web Hosts
    Small biographies on hosts, uptime reports and some reviews
    Feel free to add your review or add a host that isn't on the list.

  12. #12
    maybe it's just a generic php error? If you post some details, we can help

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    65
    Quote Originally Posted by dansolo
    ive recently brought the economy plan from there.

    my main aim is to setup invision board discussion board.

    just wanted to know if this hosting was php enabled?

    cause when ever i re-direct the url to a .php to start the process of installing the boards it just comes up with the goddady error :/

    anyone know how or why?
    As others noted, Go Daddy does offer PHP. I don't know much about the invision BB, but can you be more exact when you say "redirect the url to a php to start the process of installing the boards". As others have also noted, it is would also be helpful to know the exact godaddy error you're getting.

    If I had to guess, I'm betting you have a permission error (most php programs with setup programs usually need to be able to write to a directory or file) or haven't setup you're database correctly (assuming you're needing MySQL). Also, are you using their Windows or Linux package? Makes a big difference when it comes to troubleshooting.

    -Bryan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •