best deal right now: godaddy/namecheap

hi,

can you tell me which is the better deal right now:

between godaddy and namecheap -- godaddy is offering full email package.Namecheap is offering whois lock -- something like that.

I am new to this -- so can somene please walk me thru both the deals and tell me which is better.

also Q2) do new domain registrations get cheaper towards thanksgiving time -- more/better deals during holiday season?

thanks
    PS: I was certain godaddy was $6.95 few days ago.

I've used both and NameCheap is definitely the winner here. NC's support is better, their control panel is better, not to mention a free WhoisGuard is worth the price of admission alone (ie. no spam and anonymous Whois results = privacy and peace of mind). Go for NameCheap, by far the better choice, imho.

Trip

Quote Originally Posted by vj135
    hi,

can you tell me which is the better deal right now:

between godaddy and namecheap -- godaddy is offering full email package.Namecheap is offering whois lock -- something like that.

I am new to this -- so can somene please walk me thru both the deals and tell me which is better.

also Q2) do new domain registrations get cheaper towards thanksgiving time -- more/better deals during holiday season?

thanks
    PS: I was certain godaddy was $6.95 few days ago.
    The answer depends on your needs.

NameCheap offers free whois protection so people viewing the whois information for the domain will not be able to see your name and address. This also cuts down on spam, as some spammers do datamine the whois directory. If you plan on running a business website, a technical savvy person may see that you block the whois information, and may find it risky to do business with you. NameCheap offers Domain Registration for $8.88/year.