Question Newbie needs quick rundown on ecommerce!

Confused!!!

I'm a newbie to ecommerce, know DreamWeaver, so not completely illiterate!!

I feel like...I'm chasing my tail on what to do first.

I know that I have to get a domain name, and I know how to do that. I'll be working out of my home, any horror stories with using my home address for WHOIS? Advice?

Although I can use DreamWeaver, I'm going to hire a web designer so my site is professional. I found the web designer of my dreams, I only hope that I can afford him! Okay, here's where I start chasing my tail. Do I tell him to plunk a shopping cart in there? Or do I have to find my webhost or gateway or merchant account first, to make sure that everyone is compatible??????

And I'm not quite getting the difference between gateways and merchant accounts. It seems like there are a lot of pieces to this puzzle. I had thought about Sam's Club or Costco for cc processing, but read another thread on that topic and I'm highly reconsidering it. And how do I know who is legit??

Help, please!!! My many thanks!

Ok it seems you need a lot of advice here...

Well first, a web designer is not really capable of doing a professional shopping cart, by that I mean you will not only need a designer but a good programmer. Dreamweaver may help a little on the design part, but most of the programmers use notepad.

I really recommend the following.

1) Get a shopping cart like osCommerce or Zen Cart, and find a good company that has experience on working with it, that way they can make a very custom looking site based on osCommerce.

2) osCommerce has already integration with multiple gateways, personally i recommend Authorize.net we've been working with it for many years on many e-commerce stores and is great.

3) many merchant providers have support for authorize.net, some more expensive than others, but if you research you can find the authorize.net for around $99 set up and $7.5/month.