Raising my ranking in Google

I have had my webhosting business for about 2 years now. I have always had terrible rankings in all search engines. This business has not made a lot of money for me but it does break even. I want to start increasing my customer base so I want to now increase my rankings in Google. I studied a lot of different webpages and re-optimized my website and re-submitted it to Google. Now for the last two weeks I have been visited by Googlebot every two days like clockwork.

Here are my questions:
    1. Is this normal for Google to re-visit my website regularly every two days?
    2. Will all these visits help raise my ranking in Google?
    3. Since I am basically just starting with optimization, how can I tell my position in Google when all the Google ranking websites only go down to the first 1,000! I can't tell where I am yet.

Any help and/or advice will be appreciated!

Mod edit: Signature removed from post text
    Last edited by JayC; 11-01-2005 at 03:42 PM.

bobcares is offline [email protected]
    Hi!
    Use http://pagerank.net.
    It has some tools that may help you.

There are many other ways to be get higher search engine ranking and it is a big subject on its own. I am, unfortunately, not an expert in that hence I cannot give any suggestion.

The little I have learnt tells me that the page should be clean and should convey the message in under 10 seconds because people are lazy and do not like to read 4 pages to know what is the unique thing about the site is... :-)

Just my views

Regards
    Amar
    A student once asked his teacher, "Master, what is enlightenment?"
    The master replied, "When hungry, eat. When tired, sleep. When you need care, come to bobcares...."

Dave,

You may want to find a couple more SEO resources online.. maybe check out the SitePoint Forums and WebmasterWorld forums...

I couldn't see any hints at optimization (even the most basic... keywords in the page title... headers...) on your webpages.