VPS management level?

HI all

New to VPS and looking at what options are available as I am in need of changing providers due to long standing support issues. Currently I have a standard reseller account with 20GB space and 250GB bandwidth, 3 IP's, personal nameservers etc.

I have asked for quotes through host quote etc and in the WHT forums (naughty me) at http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=457362 if you are interested in what I am looking for.

Anyway to my real question for this post is the management level.

Unmanaged, Managed and Fully Managed are the three options I am seeing many provides have.

So what is the right choice?

I have experience using WHM and cpanel and I am quite happy with some unix commands - but I am very new at unix stuff - but prefer unix based servers - just use to them I guess

I am confident to be able to go through error logs, test scripts (Perl and PHP) for errors and can usually find most, usually permission settings that someone has not set properly, but I am not a programmer in any way, I cannot code scripts from scratch - I am more a trouble shooter only.

Anyway so what is best for me? What expereince does one really have to have to be able to confidently use an unmanaged VPS?

Cheers

Greg

It's a budget issue

It depends upon your budget. If you had previously worked with the control panel provided by your VPS provider and know things very well then you can opt for unmanaged.

If you don't know anything then go for managed as you will get support for all issues from your provider.

You have to check this matter with your provider and they can be able to give you good opinion.

Best of luck

What expereince does one really have to have to be able to confidently use an unmanaged VPS
    The fact that you do not know indicates that you are better off with a fully managed solution.
    I am a programmer, but know little about administering a server.