password protected blog

can someone tell me how i can put password protected pages on my site. i am starting a blog, but only want certain of my friends to read it and i don't ever want the spiders to find it, but i want the spiders to find my hompage and everything i offer, is that possible?

thank you

spiderfine

Just use a simple .htaccess with usernames/passwords

AuthType Basic
    AuthName "Password Required"
    AuthUserFile /usr/local/apache/sites/www.yourdomain.com/htdocs/blog/.htpasswd
    <LIMIT GET POST>
    require valid-user
    </LIMIT>

and you can use
    htpasswd -c .htpasswd userX

There are even simpe Javascripts for simple login, remember that the info will be exposed if you don't use a SSL, but I don't think that you are going to have sensitive data on your blog. And you can set the robots.txt file to disallow that specific file or folder

oh my...i've never done that before, do you mind being a little bit clearer. sorry.

like how exactly do i do that? do i make a seperate file or add that code to the pages i want a password on?

thanks

spiderfine

You create a file named .htaccess with the content Eglis wrote in the folder you want to have protected.
    Put the decrypted passwords into the file specified after AuthUserFile which the command above (run in your terminal) will do automatically.

i see what you mean, but...

davevad,

ok, i see what you mean and it is asking me for us and pw, but where do i put the us and pw that i want exactly?

thank you for your help, you are very informative, but I just need a little bit more info.

you said put it in after AuthUserFile, but where?
    AuthUserFile /usr/local/apache/sites/www.yourdomain.com/htdocs/blog/.htpasswd

spiderfine

The auth user file you decide where on your server you want to put it in.
    for convinience i put the .htpasswd into the directory i want to protect.