Thread: search engines

search engines

i keep saying this...but i'm still a total newbie at all this.

how do i get my site into google and other search engines?

Go to their web sites, find the add URL page, and do so.

However, if other sites already link to yours, the search engines will find you.
    Attracted to Linux, dedicated servers with CentOS 7 and Virtualmin Pro, and Archlinux as a personal OS preference.

so pretty much manually doing it, and links in other sites is all i can do, anything other options that would increase the visability of my site?

The best way to do it, LLightWhost, is have Website's link to you that are already in Google. Chances are, those sites will be spidered on a regular basis, and your site will therefore be picked up.

I would also submit your site to a number of directories. Dmoz been the one I would start with.
    - Jamie Harrop

Pay for sponsored advertising, this will increase your visibility greatly if done correctly.
    FrogJumper.com, Superb Cpanel Web Hosting.
    Excellent, High Paying Affiliate Program.

that link is very informative etechsupport2

thank you everyone, i appreciate the help

Currently botw.org directory is promoting free directory sponsor for 60 days.

You can list your site there (in a PR 6 page!) free for 60 days. It will get your site indexed within 1 day

I don't recommend submitting your site to the search engines unless it is a new site. If you are already listed, but maybe not at the top, and use the search engine submission form to submit your site, they may regard this as spam and blacklist your domain entirely.

If you are an existing site, work on getting quality incoming and outgoing links for your site, instead of submitting your site.
    Daniel B., CEO - Bezoka.com and Ungigs.com
    Hosting Solutions Optimized for: WordPress • Joomla • OpenCart • Moodle
    Data Centers in: Chicago (US), London (UK), Sydney (AU), Sofia (BG), Pori (FI)
    Email Daniel directly: ceo [at] bezoka.com