Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Tor-NY-BJ
    Posts
    330

    * Is Dual CPU unstable?

    I did not touch a lot of hardware, but I have a lot of problems with Dual P3.

    I am using a single CPU machine as comparison:

    Single 1: Laptop T40, 1.5 P4 Mobil, 512M PC2100. Everything is running perfectly.
    Single 2: P2-350 FSB 100, 160M. Everything is very slow but very stable.


    Dual 1: Compaq AP400 Dual P3-600, 256M Reg ECC PC100. Everything is ok, except it will freeze on RealPlayer etc real time media application, so must be physically power off. This machine has a hot old 4G SCSI

    Dual 2: ASUS CUR-DLS, Dual Coppermin 933 Socket 370, 1G Reg ECC PC133. That is the worst machine I ever had. It does not freeze on Realmedica, but will automatic reboot if the file is little corrupted (IBM T40 will simple go past the point). It will crash IE. Reboot on IE. Reboot on Flash. Automatic reboot on anything. CPU is 51C and 56C at full Speed. It will even reboot/crush when it is cold. I ran SiSoftware Sandra, and other testing software to burn the hardware: HD, RAM, CPU: all passed. no problem. only in real world applications: IE, Flash, RealPlayer. (Under W2K)

    Is Dual really that unstable? Is Dual only ok in Text Mode, like Linux/FreeBSD? If the problem is only related to my hardware. What could be wrong? Bios is updated. Everything is passed burn test.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    1,396
    Probably something is wrong with your configuration. Dual is not more unstable than anything else.
    Eleven2 Web Hosting - World-Wide Hosting, Done Right!
    Shared Hosting | Reseller Hosting | Dedicated | Virtual Premium Servers
    Server Locations in: Dallas | Los Angeles | Singapore | Amsterdam

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    3,080
    It is something hardware related. Dual core systems are not unstable when setup correctly. For that matter most of dual core systems use a server quality systemboard which are built for servers with reliability in mind.
    John W, CISSP, C|EH
    MS Information Security and Assurance
    ITEagleEye.com - Server Administration and Security
    Yawig.com - Managed VPS and Dedicated Servers with VIP Service

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    468
    Never seen any issues with dual CPU setups.
    bye

  5. #5
    I do management on a number of multiprocessor machines with no outstanding issues.

    Perhaps your kernel does not have driver support for your devices? Or perhaps the support built in, or the modules are outdated and limited in their functionality? There are a number of things that could be attributed to the problems you are having - upgrading software and drivers would be the first step to resolving this.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Tor-NY-BJ
    Posts
    330
    I strongly think it is a problem of Dual in general. Not only my duals all have the same problem but I guess a reason why.

    When playing real player movies .RM or .RMVB, the frames show that at least W2K does not support Dual well. If I use a single P3-500, with everything the same, I got a bad quality but ok playing. But when I use Dual 600, instead getting

    Frame
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
    I got
    Frame
    1 2 4 3 5 6 8 7 9 10

    So it looks like at real time application, when tasks are splited to 2 CPUs, then output will be messed up, beause the second CPU could produced frame 8 but the first CPU did not yet finish frame 7.

    At Dual 933, the problem is gone.

    In server cases, it is different, because tasks/processes will wait for each other.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    here and there
    Posts
    746
    step 1) upgrade your bios
    step 2) upgrade your bios
    step 3) upgrade your bios

    Awknet - DDoS Mitigation, Upstream ACLs/Filtering, Unmanaged Dedicated Servers, BGP IP Transit & More!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    alabama
    Posts
    35
    I have had a dual p3 sys for about three yrs now winXp/dual boot fc2 and havent had any problems out of it. try the driver updates or move to Xp.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Hanoi
    Posts
    4,306
    I have run Dual P3 733MHz, and Dual P3 1.13GHz, both of them are very stable. I love our P3 boxes with scsi hd

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    1,905
    frames show that at least W2K does not support Dual well. If
    Not true. We run many Dual XEON win2000 and win2003 boxes with zero issues. However all of this is on newer hardware.

    It could be very well an issue with RealMedia's support for Dual Processors. If Realmedia is designed to use all available processors, it could very well be having issues managing multiple threads across the different CPUs. Try playing a file in Windows Media player and see if you get the same issue. If you do, its probably hardware
    init.me - Build, Share & Embed

    JodoHost.com - Windows VPS Hosting, ASP.NET and SQL Server Hosting
    8th year in Business, 200+ Servers. Microsoft Gold Certified Partner

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by jwr
    step 1) upgrade your bios
    step 2) upgrade your bios
    step 3) upgrade your bios

    I can't agree more ....
    P4HOST.COM -- Specialize in quality Web Hosting solutions.
    Affordable -- Prices are very comparative
    Reliable -- Very low load average guaranteed. 60 day money back. Fast Support --Support Forum -- Providing hosting since 2003

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •