Professional Search Engine Marketer Certification - give me a break.

Hey Everyone,

I'd like your input on this...

WebCEO apparently has a virtual university where they offer a crash course in Search Engine marketing, and then certify you as a PSEM (pro search engine marketer).

http://uni.webceo.com/certified.php?id=4110

That's apparently what the certificate looks like.

Here's their order page for it:

https://secure.webceo.com/order-page.htm

I really don't know what to make of it.

They make it out to be something HUGE that will get you more clients, and give you some fabulous bragging rights. But in all reality - have you guys even heard of this? Could it possibly be worth anything more than fooling a few newbie client's by saying "yeah I'm a pro, here's my certification".

I just don't know. I heard the course was 80% tutorial on how to use the WebCEO software and most of it was all basic stuff that can easily be found on the internet (though, what can't be found on the internet).

What do you guys make of this?

Hell, Brain Bench has been around for a while, and nobody knows who they are, they also certify. It really only matters if the person you are trying to work for even cares, in my opinion. I would think good referrals would be alot better than this.
    "It's hard to dance if you just lost your wallet. Whoa! Where's my wallet? But, hey this song is funky." - Mitch Hedberg

The Certification of web skills is an interesting topic, and one that is close to my heart.

I have recently embarked on the CIW Associate course (www.ciwcertified.com) and bought the CIW Master Web Designer course to do upon completion of the Associate.