Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    333

    Unhappy Apache ZOMBIES killing my apache, please help...

    I don`t know what this can be but I know that this killing my apache every few minutes on 2 my servers and I think this is some attack or...

    Server working fine, like before this problem but now I have too much zombies (when I use 'top' command) and from 0 in second come to 30 and back to 0 and back to 2x-30 and I think that that killing my apache...now I have too much:
    httpd <defunct>

    processes in apache...

    Somebody know what can be problem?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,290
    check your error log.. You may have log files over 2gb in size
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    333
    yes, problem is in apache main log, thank you...that is because cPanel don`t rotate log file on my server because I have load over 2 and cpanel don`t want start webalizer and other stats programs (cpanel rotate my logs after create stats)...

    Can I on some way disable apache main log (not error) or start log rotation on load over 1-2 and without webalizer stats...

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Balmumcu, Istanbul, TR
    Posts
    20

    *

    any solutions yet?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    47

    Wink

    Hi!
    You can go to WHM -> Tweak settings and change a value in this field:
    The load average above the number of cpus at which logs file processing should be suspended

    Put 4 in it and cpanel wil run logs if the load is under (4+number of CPUs).

    That should help you.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh
    Posts
    3,479
    For those who don't have cPanel and are having this problem, you can use a script called logrotate to compress and move the logs, then restart Apache.

    http://linuxcommand.org/man_pages/logrotate8.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •