My idea for hosting business

Hello all,

I am a web developer who is already hosting my clients in a reseller account.

I am planning to open the hosting service to ofer to others, not only my actual clients.

So, since I have a day job in a software house, I am able to check my mails contantly.

My idea then is the following:

- A new site for this new venture

- Full documentation on CPanel

- FAQ with other questions they might have, specially the email issues )

- Forum (I am not sure about this one)

- Help Desk via ticket system

- Payment processors alredy choosen. Billing software still under investigation

I already have a target market and ideas on which services they would benefit from

Now, my goal is to have about 100~150 clients only, since I am a one man show....

Am I right in thinking on this way?

Am I missing something?

Any other ideas or suggestions?

Please let me know what you moer experienced guys think.

Note: I am having this 100~150 clients as a goal since after read a lot of topics on WHT, I saw that there is not much support (tickets/day) for this amount of clients...

One problem I foresee is , your employer employs you to work for them, constantly checking your email to support your own business, won't it be unfair to them?

Secondly, 100 - 150 clients is a reasonable goal but it still needs efforts to get them, you need to plan for the advertising to get these clients.

Lastly , if you are planning to continue hosting 100-150 clients on a reseller account, you would need to check if your host is able to cope. Or if you are getting a dedicated server, you will need to get a part time sys admin or support form one of the tech support companies.

Sounds like a decent idea. However just a couple of things.