hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : time for a reboot?
Reply

Forum Jump

time for a reboot?

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2005, 02:34 PM
HD Fanatic HD Fanatic is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,099

time for a reboot?


My server has been up for over 140 days, is it a good idea to reboot it? I noticed that my forum is running very slow at times, this has been happening recently. However, the memory and cpu usage isn't so high. Maybe thare are too many sleeping/zombie processes? Would rebooting do any good to make server run faster?



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-04-2005, 02:36 PM
layer0 layer0 is offline
Performance Specialist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 10,380
Try restarting both MySQL & Apache. Also, try installing a PHP optimizer such as eAccelerator (will work together with Zend) to improve PHP parsing speed.

The only real reason to reboot a *NIX machine is to apply updates (kernel related), really nothing else.

__________________
MediaLayer, LLC - Lightning fast web hosting since 2005. Ask about our new pure SSD storage platform!
First and leading provider of LiteSpeed based hosting combined with enterprise grade hardware.
Free Account Migrations, Custom Solutions, and Servers in US, EU, and Asia
Our Application Hosting plans outperform the typical VPS. Ask us about special offers on yearly plans!

  #3  
Old 10-04-2005, 02:38 PM
Scott.Mc Scott.Mc is online now
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 2,522
Not really, servers are designed to run for extremely long periods of time.

The memory should be used up very quickly and that is normal for linux, I suggest yo ulook into why it is running slow as it is not relating to it being up for a long time.

__________________
Server Management - AdminGeekZ.com
Infrastructure Management, Web Application Performance, mySQL DBA. System Automation.
WordPress/Magento Performance, Apache to Nginx Conversion, Varnish Implimentation, DDoS Protection, Custom Nginx Modules
Check our wordpress varnish plugin. Contact us for quote: sales@admingeekz.com

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 10-04-2005, 02:46 PM
HD Fanatic HD Fanatic is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,099
I have mmcache and zend optimizer installed already. How about tweaking apache, would that help?

Here is the output of top -c

Quote:
14:53:00 up 141 days, 5:04, 1 user, load average: 0.56, 0.61, 0.68
294 processes: 291 sleeping, 1 running, 2 zombie, 0 stopped
CPU states: cpu user nice system irq softirq iowait idle
total 2.1% 20.8% 7.2% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 69.7%
cpu00 3.2% 9.5% 4.3% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 82.8%
cpu01 1.1% 32.0% 10.1% 0.0% 0.0% 0.0% 56.6%
Mem: 1033064k av, 996348k used, 36716k free, 0k shrd, 10456k buff
208760k active, 273672k inactive
Swap: 1052248k av, 124448k used, 927800k free 443948k cached


32423 nobody 11 4 9932 8664 5892 S N 8.4 0.8 0:00 1 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -DSSL
32424 nobody 11 4 11252 9.9M 5436 S N 7.8 0.9 0:00 1 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -DSSL
32427 nobody 12 4 9544 8244 5056 S N 7.0 0.7 0:00 0 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -DSSL
32425 nobody 11 4 11836 10M 5976 S N 5.8 1.0 0:00 1 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -DSSL
32420 nobody 11 4 9956 8852 6164 S N 2.3 0.8 0:00 1 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -DSSL
29688 root 19 0 1288 1288 840 R 2.2 0.1 1:07 1 top -c
32426 nobody 11 4 9620 8500 5200 S N 1.7 0.8 0:00 0 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -DSSL
30563 snort 9 0 24936 22M 944 S 1.2 2.2 14:45 0 /usr/sbin/snort -b -d -D -i eth0 -u snort -g snort -c /etc/snort/snort.conf
1826 mysql 13 6 89324 73M 11460 S N 0.4 7.3 0:33 0 /usr/sbin/mysqld --basedir=/ --datadir=/var/lib/mysql --user=mysql --pid-fi
29638 mysql 13 6 89324 73M 11460 S N 0.2 7.3 0:00 1 /usr/sbin/mysqld --basedir=/ --datadir=/var/lib/mysql --user=mysql --pid-fi
5 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.1 0.0 40:28 1 kswapd
6230 mysql 13 6 89324 73M 11460 S N 0.1 7.3 2:17 0 /usr/sbin/mysqld --basedir=/ --datadir=/var/lib/mysql --user=mysql --pid-fi
29712 mysql 13 6 89324 73M 11460 S N 0.1 7.3 0:00 0 /usr/sbin/mysqld --basedir=/ --datadir=/var/lib/mysql --user=mysql --pid-fi
1 root 8 0 432 408 388 S 0.0 0.0 1:22 1 init [3]
2 root 8 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 0 keventd
3 root 19 19 0 0 0 SWN 0.0 0.0 0:00 0 ksoftirqd_CPU0
4 root 19 19 0 0 0 SWN 0.0 0.0 0:00 1 ksoftirqd_CPU1
6 root 9 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:17 0 bdflush
Apache status:

Parent Server Generation: 2
Server uptime: 64 days 14 hours 31 minutes 25 seconds
Total accesses: 22373935 - Total Traffic: 188.9 GB
CPU Usage: u23549.5 s2428.79 cu8.29 cs7.55 - .466% CPU load
4.01 requests/sec - 35.5 kB/second - 8.9 kB/request
84 requests currently being processed, 10 idle servers


Last edited by HD Fanatic; 10-04-2005 at 02:55 PM.
  #5  
Old 10-04-2005, 03:00 PM
HD Fanatic HD Fanatic is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,099
Oh and forgot to say that my swap usage is alwasy at around 9-10% usage. Before upgraind whm/cpanel, it was almost always under 1%.

  #6  
Old 10-04-2005, 06:12 PM
theacolyte theacolyte is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 86
That actually looks pretty good.

  #7  
Old 10-04-2005, 06:36 PM
eth00 eth00 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 2,938
I would say load eaccelerator over mmcache, it is newer and may be a little faster.

If you want to reboot it compile a 2.6 kernel on it and the server will really fly As mentioned above though your server looks good from what is shown above.

__________________
John W
www.eth0.us

  #8  
Old 10-04-2005, 06:56 PM
HD Fanatic HD Fanatic is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,099
I'll have to paste the output when the forum is running slow. Do I need to uninstall mmcache before installing eaccelerator ? My forums are using invision powerboard.

  #9  
Old 10-04-2005, 09:25 PM
Jim_UK Jim_UK is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,616
From the look of that ps output it looks like you are running CentOS/RHES 3.x or below but I could be wrong. If so, you should have had at least one kernel update within the last 140 days and therefore a reboot to apply this (the latest kernel for CentOS/RHES 3.x was within the last week or so).

__________________
Clook Internet
UK based web hosting, reseller accounts and fully managed dedicated and virtual servers! In our 12th year and counting...


  #10  
Old 10-04-2005, 09:45 PM
HD Fanatic HD Fanatic is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,099
Yeah, it's CentOS 3.5. How do I apply a kernal update? What are the improvements, don't want it to break stuff... Thx

  #11  
Old 10-05-2005, 12:37 AM
theacolyte theacolyte is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 86
RHEL just pushed an update last week. If you haven't done a kernel upgrade before, I'd suggest testing it out on a home machine first to learn the basics. There are plenty of walkthroughs available online to guide you to do it.

  #12  
Old 10-05-2005, 08:03 AM
eth00 eth00 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 2,938
Rpm kernel upgrades are pretty easy and as long as you are careful should not fail. There are a few guides around if you do a quick search.

Whay you want to be careful with is when you build a source kernel, but even those are not horrible once you get the hang of it.

__________________
John W
www.eth0.us

  #13  
Old 10-05-2005, 12:52 PM
theacolyte theacolyte is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 86
^--- what he said. Even so, any kernel upgrades should not be taken lightly, and you may want to test before you deploy.

  #14  
Old 10-06-2005, 12:43 PM
Ivan23 Ivan23 is offline
Disabled
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally posted by eth00
I would say load eaccelerator over mmcache, it is newer and may be a little faster.

If you want to reboot it compile a 2.6 kernel on it and the server will really fly As mentioned above though your server looks good from what is shown above.

agreed , this is what i would do

  #15  
Old 10-06-2005, 03:12 PM
camers camers is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,958
Well, i see you have eaten up swap space, that may be your problem.

Maybe a small RAM upgrade will suffice? And maybe adjust your swappiness values if you have 2.6?

__________________
It's Scott!

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
CIO New York Summit 2013 Web Hosting Events 2013-03-27 19:48:29
CIO Summit 2013 Web Hosting Events 2013-03-05 18:08:59
CloudFlare Crashes After Juniper Edge Routers Fail Web Hosting News 2013-03-04 15:31:30
Internap Survey Finds Organizations Want Cloud-like Control in Colo Environments Web Hosting News 2013-02-14 09:34:25
Web Host MochaHost Adds New Features to Linux VPS Hosting Plans Web Hosting News 2012-08-01 15:52:14


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?