
09-15-2005, 12:28 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas, where else?
Posts: 1,570
|
|
Watch Out for this one
We have a couple of hosting ventures both in "niche" markets. About a month ago we received an order from andrewthomas@repairman.com.
This was noticed because very few customers ever "sign up" and proceed with absolutely no other contact at all (at least some question for support, asking which version of what we are running, or something) or at least just to check our phone or support times.
So this was an unusual "sign up".
We sent our usual e-mail welcome (offering to pre-configure the account for FrontPage or any other special needs a customer might have) and never received a response. His domain name was autorepairhelpdesk.com if I remember correctly. Sounded legitimate enough for a forum or such.
A week went by and nothing had been uploaded to the account and we checked the domain name & the name servers had never been moved. It was still parked at the registrar.
Then we checked his e-mail repairman.com and found it was just one of those links to everything you can think of pages. Our TOS prohibits those so we e-mailed repeatedly. Fearing the worst we suspended his account and sent an e-mail saying as soon as he was ready to upload a web site we would be glad to turn it on.
A week later he e-mailed us to turn it on but we noticed his domain name was still "parked" at the registrar. So as a precaution we put a tight "throttle" on his account's max e-mails per hour and sent him an e-mail it was turned on.
In less than an hour we had over 400 e-mails stacked up in his queue all for "Get Viagra, Valium etc. on-line". So we shut him down again.
Almost immediately we get a demand for a refund and even though our TOS says no refunds if you violate the TOS we immediately refunded his money and said we were doing so only as a courtesy since he violated the TOS by sending junk mail.
He even kept demanding refunds until we finally sent him a copy of the receipt where he had already been refunded the day he asked. He was obviously trying to get multiple refunds.
So watch out for this guy. The domain names & such look legit enough but he's a "pill spammer". We caught him because we are a niche provider and he just didn't fit in with our usual customers, but if you are just an "open" provider to the general market he could have you blacklisted or at least suck up all your resources in no time...and then demand his money back when you catch him 
|

09-15-2005, 01:07 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,902
|
|
We've got this guy also. Paypal actually notified us about this character, seems he used a compromised account to pay for things.
Here's the IP he signed up with: 206.225.92.13
__________________
██ SCHostPRO.com ██
º Powered by DirectAdmin with iTron
º Shared + Reseller Hosting
º Hosting with that special sauce
|

09-15-2005, 02:27 PM
|
|
PHP for breakfast
|
|
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lansing, MI, USA
Posts: 1,548
|
|
We had him sign up as well... actually paid, but the phone number was bad, so his account never got signed up.
You guys should phone verify, and you wouldn't have this problem 
__________________
Jacob - WebOnce Technologies - 30 Day 100% Satisfaction Guarantee - Over 5 Years Going Strong!
Website Hosting, PHP4&5, RoR, MySQL 5.0, Reseller Hosting, Development, and Designs
Powered By JAM - Professional Website Development - PHP, MySQL, JavaScript, AJAX - Projects Small & Large
|

09-15-2005, 02:39 PM
|
|
Newbie
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 10
|
|
Had him to, sounds like he gets around.
|

09-15-2005, 03:11 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,902
|
|
Hope it's not another medistar clone 
__________________
██ SCHostPRO.com ██
º Powered by DirectAdmin with iTron
º Shared + Reseller Hosting
º Hosting with that special sauce
|

09-15-2005, 03:50 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fairborn, ohio
Posts: 916
|
|
Hahaha! The $500 clause rocks
__________________
• Imeanwebhosting.com - Shared cpanel hosting, 99.9% uptime.
• 10 min average ticket responses, softaculous, rvsitebuilder, and more!
• Reliable, affordable shared hosting. I Mean Web Hosting!
|

09-15-2005, 06:32 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas, where else?
Posts: 1,570
|
|
He's got a working phone somewhere. He completed all the phone verification (ours is automated though) That's another unusual thing for us, the spammers usually won't use a real phone, this one did.
I think his e-mails were forged as "Pillz-R-US"
I'm sure he was hacked when he figured out we had him limited to either 10 or 15 "sends" per hour.
These guys are ruthless and like the other one he's USA based 
|

09-15-2005, 09:40 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 3,210
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Bohica
Hahaha! The $500 clause rocks
|
Good luck getting $500 from an account that was probably opened with a phished eBay account or stolen credit card number.
__________________
Jay Sudowski // Handy Networks LLC // Co-Founder & CTO
AS30475 - Level(3), HE, Telia, XO and Cogent. Noction optimized network.
Offering Self Managed and Fully Managed Linux and Windows Dedicated Solutions from our Private Denver Data Center.
Current specials here. Check them out.
|

09-15-2005, 10:35 PM
|
|
.
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,522
|
|
We got this guy too!
But while doing fraud checks and background checks, I didn't have a good feeling.
We never activated the guy and he has disputed the transaction with PayPal pending reversal.
Good thing we never activated the account 
__________________
█ InnoHosting Ltd || US: 1-888-522-INNO UK: 0800 612 8075
█ UK and USA Reseller Hosting & Managed VPS | High Spec Dedicated Servers
█ WHMCS | Preloaded KB Articles | Domain+SSL Reseller| RapidSSL | Legal Document Templates
█ Reliable Sales/Billing/Tech End-user Support - We can provide support to your customers!
|

09-15-2005, 11:03 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,821
|
|
Damn. We all got this guy.
Yep, we got him too. Worse yet, he got by out fraud verification.
|

09-15-2005, 11:11 PM
|
|
PHP for breakfast
|
|
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lansing, MI, USA
Posts: 1,548
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by stealthdevil
We got this guy too!
But while doing fraud checks and background checks, I didn't have a good feeling.
We never activated the guy and he has disputed the transaction with PayPal pending reversal.
Good thing we never activated the account
|
Do I want to know why you kept the guy's money after determining it was fraud? 
__________________
Jacob - WebOnce Technologies - 30 Day 100% Satisfaction Guarantee - Over 5 Years Going Strong!
Website Hosting, PHP4&5, RoR, MySQL 5.0, Reseller Hosting, Development, and Designs
Powered By JAM - Professional Website Development - PHP, MySQL, JavaScript, AJAX - Projects Small & Large
|

09-16-2005, 06:45 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas, where else?
Posts: 1,570
|
|
At least for us it was a courtesy refund since he clearly violated out AUP and TOS... just not worth $7 or $8 to get a hassle with PayPal which he would surely do.
But he was legit as far as domain name parked & waiting, clear PayPal, clear anti-fraud. Valid e-mail & phone. etc. but nothing to indicate he or his PayPay account was a fraud...no fraud just that that funny feeling that is almost always right....something was wrong...he was a useless spammer! 
Last edited by DDT; 09-16-2005 at 06:48 AM.
|

09-16-2005, 12:07 PM
|
|
Web Host :)
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 5,005
|
|
He signed up with us also, never was able to get in touch with him on the phone for phone verification so he order was refunded 48 hours later.
I have noticed so far that no spammer we have gotten will use a valid phone number where they answer, usually wrong number or fax etc but sometimes they get a voicemail box so it seems legit but you really can't be too careful these days it seems.
__________________
OKIHost Internet - Offering quality shared, reseller and dedicated hosting solutions since 2002
AIM: OKISupport Phone: (888)-OKIHOST Helpdesk: OKIHost Support
EZMove to us today! Just ask me how.
|

09-16-2005, 02:39 PM
|
|
Junior Guru Wannabe
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 95
|
|
Had this guy as well. Fortunately, he spelled his e-mail address wrong, and never recieved his sign up information.
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
| Postbit Selector |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Login: |
|
|
| Advertisement: |
|
|
| Web Hosting News: |
|
|
|