Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    36

    Question Reducing error log size

    I'd like to reduce the amount of information that is logged in the error_log and access_log in /etc/local/apache/logs

    Currently it records missing 404's, missing robots, missing favicon's, jpg, etc, etc.

    This all adds up to wasted resources, huge log files, extra reboots, hard to read logs, and sexually transmitted diseases.

    I've found the following info very helpful (ie this is how you do it), however I haven't had success so far.

    <VirtualHost *:80>
    ...
    # Logging --
    # Filter out everything of no importance to reduce the logging load
    # Check the logs periodically to make sure this filter is up-to-date **
    <IfModule mod_setenvif.c>
    # Filter out what we don't want to log
    SetEnvIf Request_URI "\.gif$" no_log
    SetEnvIf Request_URI "\.jpg$" no_log
    SetEnvIf Request_URI "\.png$" no_log
    SetEnvIf Request_URI "\.css$" no_log
    SetEnvIf Request_URI "\.js$" no_log
    SetEnvIf Request_URI "\.ico$" no_log
    SetEnvIf Request_URI "css.css" no_log
    SetEnvIf Request_URI "robots.txt" no_log
    </IfModule>

    # Log what we need for awstats
    LogFormat "%h %t \"%r\" %>s %b \"%{Referer}i\" \"%{User-Agent}i\"" mylog
    CustomLog /var/log/httpd/mysite-access_log mylog env=!no_log
    ErrorLog /var/log/httpd/mysite-error_log
    ...
    </VirtualHost>


    Here are my particulars:
    OS: 2.4.20-021stab028.17.777-enterprise
    Apache: 1.3.33
    Cpanel 10.2.0-RELEASE 82

    So I'd like to ensure the logging is fixed for each domain I create.. is it possible? Or do I need to tweak each entry in the httpd.conf?

    Does ALL of the above need to be in each virtual container? Or one statement in the main part of the conf, and then just the CustomLog line per container?

    Thanks for any help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    The Shadows
    Posts
    2,925
    The above only works for the access log. If you want to filter the error log, you will need to pipe it to a program and have that do the logging. Otherwise, you are SOL.
    Dan Sheppard ~ Freelance whatever

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    36
    I'll take your word for it, but now I'm confused...

    This is typical of my access_log:

    "127.0.0.1 - - [08/Sep/2005:12:08:51 -0700] "GET / HTTP/1.0" 200 2973
    127.0.0.1 - - [08/Sep/2005:12:10:09 -0700] "GET /whm-server-status HTTP/1.0" 200 15594
    127.0.0.1 - - [08/Sep/2005:12:15:05 -0700] "GET /whm-server-status HTTP/1.0" 200 15241
    127.0.0.1 - - [08/Sep/2005:12:17:13 -0700] "GET / HTTP/1.0" 200 2973
    127.0.0.1 - - [08/Sep/2005:12:20:06 -0700] "GET /whm-server-status HTTP/1.0" 200 15442"


    There is no mention of any type of file.. that only happens in the error_log. So why would you filter out certain file types if they are not even mentioned in the access_log?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    The Shadows
    Posts
    2,925
    /whm-server-status is a "file", sort of. It is a alias to a internal module. Since this is a cPanel box, your actual domain access logs are here:
    /usr/local/apache/domlogs/

    You will most likely find, in the domain you filtered out images, that if someone requests a image, it doesn't appear in the access log.

    The error_log shows errors about files that don't exist.
    Dan Sheppard ~ Freelance whatever

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    36
    Thanks, that explains a lot!

    Now that I know where to look and what to look for I should be able to get the .conf setup right. I didn't think it was working before (no matter what I did) because i couldn't see any positive results. ie i was looking at the wrong file.

    A futher question (to solve the original question). Is there a common method/program that people use to pipe the error_log to that filters out useless data, etc? And would piping this file effect the hosted domain error logs, or are theirs separate?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    The Shadows
    Posts
    2,925
    I don't know of anything, but then again, I am a custom software kinda guy

    As far as affecting hosted domains, yes it would.
    Dan Sheppard ~ Freelance whatever

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •