hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Web Hosting : subdomains on earthlink hosting
Reply

Forum Jump

subdomains on earthlink hosting

Reply Post New Thread In Web Hosting Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2

subdomains on earthlink hosting


Admins, please move this if it's in the wrong forum - couldn't tell if it should be hosting or domains.

I have a domain name registered and a hosting account with earthlink. I'd like to use subdomains to categorize my site, ie. subdomain1.mydomain.com pointing to /www/subdomain1/index.html, etc.

However, I can't figure out how to set this up and Earthlink tech support was of no help. The Earthlink Biz's DNS editor lets me edit a Zone file with a few subdomains already in there (www, ftp, pop) going back to the main site but I can't figure out how to get anything to point to the folder structure.

I am not sure if it is being hosted on an Apache server but I sure can't find the httpd.conf file, so that doesn't seem to be an option.

Does anyone out there have any experience with this?

Thanks!



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old
Disabled
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 35
usally subdomains work like so:

subdomain1.yourdomain.com =>
/usrname/public_html/subdomain1

subdomain2.yourdomain.com =>
/usrname/public_html/subdomain2

but this is on a linux enviornment.

  #3  
Old
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern Europe.
Posts: 2,571
Hope you get some assistance with this. I must say I'm surprised that your host couldn't help you get this set up!

Personally, I would expect any host worth their salt to have this procedure in their FAQ - or else at their fingertips.

__________________
Web Hosting Reviews based on real customer feedback
77 Ways To More Traffic

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Actually, what they told me was that I could have subdomains that point to entirely different domains, ie. site2.mydomain.com -> site2.com, but I could not point to the directory structure of my own site.

I thought that was ridiculous, so I figured I'd look around on the net, but the lack of access to administrative files limits me...

Thanks for your comments, any more ideas?

Edit: the FAQs only mention the most basic of topics, while the link to the support forum is broken...

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
EarthLink Launches Private Cloud Hosting Web Hosting News 2013-10-21 13:35:52
EarthLink to Meet Cloud Demand with New Miami Data Center Web Hosting News 2013-07-26 16:28:55
EarthLink Acquires Managed Services Provider CenterBeam for $22 Million Web Hosting News 2013-06-17 14:30:10
EarthLink Opens Data Center and Sales Office in San Jose Web Hosting News 2013-06-13 15:48:21
EarthLink Opens New Data Center and Office in Chicago Web Hosting News 2013-05-28 14:46:35


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
WHT Host Brief Email:

We respect your privacy. We will never sell, rent, or give away your address to any outside party, ever.

Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:
WHT Membership
WHT Membership



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?