
09-02-2005, 11:05 AM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,652
|
|
how to contact yahoo abuse? [urgent]
I got a spam email on several accounts last nite/ this morning, promoting a child porn site (DISGUSTING!) and while trying to remove it, its found to be hosting on yahoo servers.
Going round and round thru yahoo's ignorant help section, looking for a contact email address, or phone number so they can remove this site ASAP!
__________________
Happily hosting @ Dathorn.com (Since 3/2003), Ispeeds.net (Since 2004), & Quadspeedi.net (Since 7/2005)!
Hosted @ FDC for 9 Years
|

09-02-2005, 11:19 AM
|
|
Community Liaison 2.0
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WebHostingTalk
Posts: 8,673
|
|
Re: how to contact yahoo abuse? [urgent]
Quote:
Originally posted by ChrisTech
I got a spam email on several accounts last nite/ this morning, promoting a child porn site (DISGUSTING!) and while trying to remove it, its found to be hosting on yahoo servers.
Going round and round thru yahoo's ignorant help section, looking for a contact email address, or phone number so they can remove this site ASAP!
|
I've checked a couple of the NOC DB's and I don't see anything other than abuse@yahoo.com.
I've searched through my NANOG archives as well, and the concenus is, the abuse department pretty much doesnt exist.
Sirius
|

09-02-2005, 12:08 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,652
|
|
Found a #408.349.1572 though after approx 12 min of hold time, it keeps dropping the call. Both cell and landline.
Ive sent emails to the basic abuse@ and abuse@yahoo-inc.com
Hopefully they will act on it.
Though, the site is still currently up.
__________________
Happily hosting @ Dathorn.com (Since 3/2003), Ispeeds.net (Since 2004), & Quadspeedi.net (Since 7/2005)!
Hosted @ FDC for 9 Years
|

09-02-2005, 02:33 PM
|
|
Community Liaison 2.0
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WebHostingTalk
Posts: 8,673
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by ChrisTech
Found a #408.349.1572 though after approx 12 min of hold time, it keeps dropping the call. Both cell and landline.
Ive sent emails to the basic abuse@ and abuse@yahoo-inc.com
Hopefully they will act on it.
Though, the site is still currently up.
|
If you want, PM me to the e-mail and I will call them as well.
I've added the number to the INOC DB listing... out of curiosity, where did you find the number?
Sirius
|

09-02-2005, 02:52 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,652
|
|
Well, this is the header, I'b obviously not going to post the domain name.
Domain was registered: Thu Sep 01 18:55:56 GMT 2005
Thru: MELBOURNE IT D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLD WIDE
Hidden Whois Info
Return-Path: <dr_seaspenal@j-fan.com>
Received: from chris (p2141-ipbf09miyazaki.miyazaki.ocn.ne.jp [222.149.159.141])
by tweety.[removed].net (8.11.6/8.11.6) with SMTP id j822T3r15369;
Thu, 1 Sep 2005 21:29:03 -0500
Message-ID: <hqghumeayl.6189279543lfdxfircvs@Ronxggbwkf.com>
From: "Ron" <dr_seaspenal@j-fan.com>
Date: Fri, 02 Sep 2005 11:29:20 +0900
To: chris@[removed].net, siburt@[removed].net
Subject: RAP3D KIDZ. PEDO VIDZ!!! duplicable
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1
I just vnc'ed back to home, and the header info is the same on the one's I recieved at home. Same IP.
**And the site is STILL UP Ugh.
__________________
Happily hosting @ Dathorn.com (Since 3/2003), Ispeeds.net (Since 2004), & Quadspeedi.net (Since 7/2005)!
Hosted @ FDC for 9 Years
|

09-02-2005, 03:00 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,652
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by sirius
If you want, PM me to the e-mail and I will call them as well.
I've added the number to the INOC DB listing... out of curiosity, where did you find the number?
Sirius
|
PM sent with info.
I looked for any sort of contact, found their copywright link, and a number listed in there, called that, to try to find a live body, and it gave me a diff. # to call if I needed customer support.
__________________
Happily hosting @ Dathorn.com (Since 3/2003), Ispeeds.net (Since 2004), & Quadspeedi.net (Since 7/2005)!
Hosted @ FDC for 9 Years
|

09-02-2005, 03:06 PM
|
|
Community Liaison 2.0
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WebHostingTalk
Posts: 8,673
|
|
I've reported it to Yahoo... finally got through to someone who told me, "It's not our problem, people are free to upload what they want. You should report it to reportabuse@yahoo-inc.com and not call me about it".
Sad.
Sirius
|

09-02-2005, 03:16 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Evangelist
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 517
|
|
So yahoo says that people are free to promote child porno?!?
If you had that on recording, im sure there would be a lot of news agencys intrested in that.
__________________
Note to self: Add something funny!
Search is your friend!
|

09-02-2005, 03:28 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,356
|
|
I guess if they wont take it down you will have to contact a law inforcement agency. Then maybe the person that put it up will get some hard time.
|

09-02-2005, 03:42 PM
|
|
Managed Hosting Expert
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 4,163
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by sirius
I've reported it to Yahoo... finally got through to someone who told me, "It's not our problem, people are free to upload what they want. You should report it to reportabuse@yahoo-inc.com and not call me about it".
Sad.
Sirius
|
Did you get the person's name?
I think that employee will be the one with the problem when people higher up in the management find out.
__________________
█ Dan Kitchen | Technical Director | Razorblue
█ ddi: (+44) (0)1748 900 680 | e: dkitchen@razorblue.com
█ UK Intensive Managed Hosting, Clusters and Colocation.
█ HP Servers, Cisco/Juniper Powered BGP Network (AS15692).
|

09-02-2005, 05:19 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 815
|
|
Excellent thanks for the links, they are great reference material and I am sure they will come in handy when others spot similar disgusting sites.
__________________
█ Tahir Ahmed
█ NetspaceOnline.net - Reliable Personal Web Site Hosting & Business Web Hosting Solutions!
█ NSDomains.net - Our Dedicated Domain Registration & Management Portal!
█ • Reseller Hosting Solutions • Linux Plesk 8 Control Panel • Provding Quality Hosting Since 2001
|

09-02-2005, 11:04 PM
|
|
Newbie
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
|
|
Who would host such crap????
Who would host such crap like child porn? I dont understand what company would host it. I have gotten links in the past with thousands of pop ups of kid porn sites and I just dont understand who would let this on there servers. Also is'nt there a way a person can find out who host a site even if the name is not on the sites pages?
|

09-02-2005, 11:52 PM
|
|
Web Hosting Master
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,652
|
|
Apparently yahoo doesn't have a very active abuse dept, or they or understaffed, or like Sirius, who called them, and they apparently didn't give a sh*t.
Site in question is still avaible. No repsonse back from yahoo's abuse dept, or the registar (was hoping they might kill the dns on it).
__________________
Happily hosting @ Dathorn.com (Since 3/2003), Ispeeds.net (Since 2004), & Quadspeedi.net (Since 7/2005)!
Hosted @ FDC for 9 Years
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
| Postbit Selector |
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Login: |
|
|
| Advertisement: |
|
|
| Web Hosting News: |
|
|
|