Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,749
    Can someone help me choose a motherboard .

    I've got a budget of around £130 (Can swing to £150 if needed) the website is done in pounds so that should help.

    http://www.cclcomputers.co.uk/acatalog/

    It's to fit in this case - ATX Midi Tower H-01

    Oh and a recommendation on cpu would be nice too .

    Thanks for any help given .


  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    917
    What's it for? Home PC, gaming station, server??

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,749
    Well intended for general use really at first. Just surfing the net, Might put paintshop or photoshop on it but nothing too fancy. If i need it for much more i'll upgrade at a later stage .. could call it a home PC.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    917
    Celerons or Durons are pretty amazing in value. Fast and inexpensive. I don't know much about AMD related motherboards. I have an Abit BE6-II with a Celeron 566 (overclocked to 850) and it's more than enough for any application I run. The Abit board goes for about $190 Canadian dollars, so you should have no problems affording it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,749
    Thats only £85 in uk currency. I'm guessing a 650mhz processor would be enough for what i want?.

    The pc i'm on now is old its about 3 years old and runs on 166mhz and i find that fast.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    917
    Oh yeah, 650 will be fine. Just make sure to get a minimum of 128 MB of ram. Any less and it won't matter how fast your processor is.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,749
    I've currently got 64 i think guess i'll buy another block of 64 then i should be fine?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    917
    yep, get more ram. Otherwise you won't benefit from the increased processor speed as much as you should.

  9. #9
    I would suggest a brand new 128 ram, since your current 64 ram is most likely 66 mhz.

    a 64 ram for that will be hard to find, and probably almost as expensive as a 128 ram @ 100/133mhz

    And yes, ram is definately the thing to invest on if you plan to do some graphic design... I have 256 and windows manage to eat 150mb just to start IE :p
    Félix C.Courtemanche · webmaster@can-host.com
    Can-Host Networks · http://www.can-host.com
    web«cp Control Panel · http://webcp.can-host.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,749
    The current 64 i have is not in a machine. It's still in its box. So guess more cash to fork out.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    80,000 feet under the sur
    Posts
    2,736
    With AMD processors, I believe Asus motherboards are reasonable, though they aren't *the* best on the market (my comp's running a K6-2/350 with an Asus and it's doing OK).

    Though the more RAM you have the better obviously.... Though don't use so much that Win98 can't handle the extra RAM
    My 2 Cents.... (or is that 2.2 cents inc. GST...?)

    Have a think about this : Programming is like sex. Make a single little mistake, and you'll be supporting it for the rest of your life.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Moldavia
    Posts
    1,177
    Gotta watch the RAM if you're doing much with graphics. Careful on the DIMM slots so you don't wind up eating expensive RAM later if you upgrade...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,749
    So would 128mb ram be good enough?.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Moldavia
    Posts
    1,177
    I find 128M plenty on most systems... though I do usually buck up to 256K or more on the systems where I do intensive graphical work, and often a full 1G on our development systems.

    For most uses, though, on a 600MHz or better board with a decent graphics card (16M minimum) and a fast bus, 128M system RAM is just dandy-fine-plenty, really.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    917
    Yeah, 128 MB is good for 90% of tasks. But like others have stated, if you're going to be doing a lot of graphic design and/or heavy gaming (Unreal Tournament, Quake, etc....) 256 is even sweeter.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Related Posts from theWHIR.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •