Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,718

    Question What's wrong with this picture

    Sid Shroff
    Senior Enterprise Web Administrator
    IIS, .NET, MS SQL
    SidShroff.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Indiana, US
    Posts
    1,354
    Internet Explorer isn't even open.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    1,802
    IE is not open and it is taking 87 MB.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bay Area -USA
    Posts
    1,738
    Whats a quess
    <<< Please see Forum Guidelines for signature setup. >>>

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,718
    Originally posted by VolkNet
    Whats a quess
    I do that a lot when typing fast. Add a Q instead of a G
    Sid Shroff
    Senior Enterprise Web Administrator
    IIS, .NET, MS SQL
    SidShroff.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,718
    Originally posted by SigmaRan
    Internet Explorer isn't even open.
    Ding! Ding!

    IE6 did this and now IE7 is doing it too.

    Does this happen to any of you? I've got 1gb ram and IE will run out of memory and not open andy windows or tabs. Solution?
    Sid Shroff
    Senior Enterprise Web Administrator
    IIS, .NET, MS SQL
    SidShroff.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Eaglehawk, Victoria,Australia
    Posts
    5,023
    IE7 want run on my machine for some in explicable reason. I have never had an issue with IE6. It flushes it's out of memory when closed. sounds like you may need a reinstall. Don't you just love MS.

    Doc
    www.doctorhill.com.au
    Need help? just ask The Doctor
    House calls a specialty
    If ignorance is bliss, why aren't more people happy ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,718
    Originally posted by TheDoctor
    IE7 want run on my machine for some in explicable reason. I have never had an issue with IE6. It flushes it's out of memory when closed. sounds like you may need a reinstall. Don't you just love MS.

    Doc
    Yeah

    At times, I'll end up with 3-5 IE processes taking up ~100mb each. Sometimes I'll get the 'vb runtime error.' other times I can't even open a new tab or window. An sometimes, IE is using up so much memory, the graphics get all weird.

    Just have to end process but another annoyance none the less.

    Does this happen to anyone else? I *think* it's got something to do with the GoogleToolbar/Alexa Bar combo and not IE directly.
    Sid Shroff
    Senior Enterprise Web Administrator
    IIS, .NET, MS SQL
    SidShroff.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,063
    I was gunna say the computer owner has a severe addiction to clicking "yes" on popups... But then again, that wouldnt be a completely surprising thing, considering half of the desktop is spyware, I guess a hidden internet explorer just sort of.. fits in.


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Designer
    Posts
    10
    i know every1s already solved this but
    erm the time is 2.29AM!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,718
    Originally posted by zccopwrx
    I was gunna say the computer owner has a severe addiction to clicking "yes" on popups... But then again, that wouldnt be a completely surprising thing, considering half of the desktop is spyware, I guess a hidden internet explorer just sort of.. fits in.

    With McAfee suite, MS Anti-Spyware, IE7, popupblockers (and I never click on yes ) I don't have any spyware.

    Yes, I guess I have a lot of desktop icons. That's nothing, you should see my folders, start menu, and favorites; yet I still find everything I look for.
    Sid Shroff
    Senior Enterprise Web Administrator
    IIS, .NET, MS SQL
    SidShroff.com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,342
    You have DIVX installed

    I thought i was the only one :p

    Peace,
    Testing 1.. Testing 1..2.. Testing 1..2..3...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    1,468
    I got divx player,

    its pretty popular I thought?
    All life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,342

    Red face

    Originally posted by Lord
    I got divx player,

    its pretty popular I thought?
    at the begining, I thought that divx was only for those who like to watch movies for free...

    guess I was wrong..

    Peace,
    Testing 1.. Testing 1..2.. Testing 1..2..3...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    13,277
    That happens to me on 98se quite often!!

    All i do is end task,however sometimes it wont even end then!!! (Task Manager is very usefull)

    Tinyurl is the answer for posting long urls!!!

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,718
    Originally posted by The Dude
    That happens to me on 98se quite often!!

    All i do is end task,however sometimes it wont even end then!!! (Task Manager is very usefull)
    Yes! It's a good thing the MS programmer developed CRTL-ALT-DEL
    Sid Shroff
    Senior Enterprise Web Administrator
    IIS, .NET, MS SQL
    SidShroff.com

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    608
    Well that wasn't very hard to spot

  18. #18
    bobcares is offline [email protected]
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    India, US, Germany
    Posts
    1,598
    Linux is a good alternative to get rid of such images...

    Amar
    A student once asked his teacher, "Master, what is enlightenment?"
    The master replied, "When hungry, eat. When tired, sleep. When you need care, come to bobcares...."

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    World Wide Web
    Posts
    230
    i thought Divx had some spywares.. MS antispyware and Spybot caught the same n so i uninstalled it.
    Articles, Blog Posts, Content Development and Copy Writing
    Skype me or Please send a PM for Contact Information

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    351
    The only thing wrong with that picture is the AOL icon on the desktop.

    (j/k, I'm a former user of it myself )

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    608
    The only thing wrong with that picture is the AOL icon on the desktop.

    (j/k, I'm a former user of it myself )
    Indeed. And the free Divx player does have spyware. Just use windows media player or something. There are tons of them.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,718
    Since we are talking about my desktop.

    About DivX, I don't use it. I think I just downloaded it before Windows Media Player 10 to play certain codecs.

    The version I have is 2.6. They have version 6 now; so this must have been sitting on my desktop for along time. I guess I never bothered deleting it and it didn't have spyware.

    I launch most things from the quick launch and start menu.

    About the AOL link, lol! It was just a shortcut for 1000 free hours. AIM must have installed it.
    Sid Shroff
    Senior Enterprise Web Administrator
    IIS, .NET, MS SQL
    SidShroff.com

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Fullerton, CA
    Posts
    97
    IE was open -- the desktop itself is internet explorer, perhaps get rid of some of your icons on your desktop as well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •