Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ypsilanti, Michigan
    Posts
    51

    should I upgrade PHP on my server ?

    hi

    on my server o have PHP 4.3.11 and every thing is fine
    no problems or load

    but i am thinking of upgradeing PHP to 5.0.3 or 5.0.4
    and i need an advice before i do it..

    is it safe ?
    witch should i go to 5.0.4 or 5.0.3 ?

    Regards,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    520
    I would suggest spawning a development / test box locally and doing a refresh of all your sites to your local machine to fully test php 5.0 before you deploy it onto your production server.

    Some commecial / free apps still ahve problems with php 5.0 it may be best to test them all first before you waste the time putting it on your server.

    The other option is of course to compile both 5.0.x and 4.3.x onto your srever and alternate which module is used by apache and test it that way, but you risk impacting customers (if you have any on there) or your own sites.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    There is also the option of running php5 as CGI (I don't have the docs on the exact process, but it could be figured out without too much trouble) and requiring php5 apps to be labeled .php5

    PHP5 as CGI is NOT the same as php5 as CLI (like php4 woud be run), module support would be vvverry limited.
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3,352
    on windows/IIS6, you can run both PHP5 and PHP4 side by side but only in CGI mode. the php.exe mode and not the ISAPI mode

    i think you should able to do the same in apache

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    49
    I have both php 4 and php 5 running on the same server. But I setup 2 different apache services for this. One running php 4 at port 80 and one running php 5 at port 81. I use mod_proxy to forward request from the first to the second apache when php 5 is needed. you can choose between php 4 an php 5 with a rewrite rule in .htacces.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,290
    even if you dont upgrade to php5.. you should upgrade your php4 to php 4.4.0
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    MrAlien987 that is a great way of doing it. I never even thought of anything along those lines.

    It would be great if you typed up a tutorial hint
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    13,290
    Steven Ciaburri | Industry's Best Server Management - Rack911.com
    Software Auditing - 400+ Vulnerabilities Found - Quote @ https://www.RACK911Labs.com
    Fully Managed Dedicated Servers (Las Vegas, New York City, & Amsterdam) (AS62710)
    FreeBSD & Linux Server Management, Security Auditing, Server Optimization, PCI Compliance

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    Thanks Steve
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    49
    - Just compile apache with mod_poxy
    - make two config files (one with php on port 80 and one with php5 on port 81 or 8080).
    Run apache twice (one fo each config file)
    Add something like this in the .htaccess file of the site which needs php5

    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{SERVER_PORT} 80
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.yourdomain.com:81/$1 [P]

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    79
    Why upgrade then your server is just fine?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ypsilanti, Michigan
    Posts
    51
    Thank you guys

    I was thinking doing it because I think that PHP 5 will low down my server load as I understand

    I really forget the scripts support PHP 5 issue
    Thank you for that

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    49
    upgrading to php 4.4 will have some script issues too.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ypsilanti, Michigan
    Posts
    51
    Originally posted by MrAlien987
    upgrading to php 4.4 will have some script issues too.
    What a piece of information
    What a development of PHP by stupid developers

    How this can be man?!!!
    If every new ver of PHP 4.4 or 5.x have an issue with the scripts that programmed on 4.1 or less
    Than what is the point of the new ver?
    Improvements?
    How this can be improvements if the new ver it self is a problem?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    49
    Some script made use of a bug in php 4.3 which have been solved in php 4.4.

    And the only issue with php 5 is because some new keywords

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •