Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Java Secrecy?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    716

    Java Secrecy?

    Hey i remember reading ages ago that Java gave away your real IP even when using Proxies with it, is this true? Thank You .

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Superior, CO, USA
    Posts
    633
    In what context? Via HTTP or what protocol? What is it you're trying to do that you want to hide your IP address via a proxy anyway?

    In my network even if it did (it doesn't) it would tell the outside world that my IP is 192.168.1.100. I'd encourage you to trace that IP to me

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    487
    Quote Originally Posted by stdunbar
    In my network even if it did (it doesn't) it would tell the outside world that my IP is 192.168.1.100. I'd encourage you to trace that IP to me
    I'd want to see someone try a DDoS attack on that

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    144
    Unless... I've seen several people out there with cable modems plugged directly into there comp Public IP and all
    if($php !== $javascript){
    echo "Good it's not supposed to be";
    }

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    716
    Yes but im talking about a java applet. In the java control panel i have used the proxy but it still says my Ip is my normal one and not the Proxy. Is there not a way that the Java can be completely anonymous through a proxy?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Superior, CO, USA
    Posts
    633
    It would depend on the applet. The default security model for an applet lets it determine the current IP address. If I wrote an applet that then sent that over the proxy to some web address then yes, that would be giving away the IP address.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    716
    Is it possible to use some third party software to send the packets through a proxy?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    144
    define proxy?

    I'm no java applet programmer... but I can tell you that unless your gateway/router proxies all traffic transparently through an all-in-one proxy.

    So what I mean is that you are probably only going through a proxy on port 80
    if($php !== $javascript){
    echo "Good it's not supposed to be";
    }

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •