Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Cluster or not?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    258

    Cluster or not?

    Hi folks!
    We have one server. SAGONET.
    Probably we want take other server in other DC.
    So. It's possible to clustering them? Even if they in diffrent DC?
    It's possible tou use same NS-records for both server?
    MAIN QUESTION! It's will be more slowly, that 2 diffrent not clustering server's? If one server down, other will work?
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    258
    Please somebody answer!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    You're question is a very difficult one to answer.

    A cluster solution would be nice to have, but the amount of money it would take to do it properly is a lot more than you are thinking of.

    You can not simple get two servers, install a quick piece of software, and have a true clustering solution. It is also even more difficult to do it between two datacenters.

    Try this for a LOT more information: http://www.webhostingtalk.com/search.php?s=
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  4. #4

    Re: Cluster or not?

    Originally posted by holyway
    Hi folks!
    We have one server. SAGONET.
    Probably we want take other server in other DC.
    So. It's possible to clustering them? Even if they in diffrent DC?
    It's possible tou use same NS-records for both server?
    MAIN QUESTION! It's will be more slowly, that 2 diffrent not clustering server's? If one server down, other will work?
    Thanks!
    if this is a shared hosting server (ie you do not control the applications running), it is very hard (keeping data consistent across the wan is non-trivial). if any of those use mysql, you are dead in the water.

    short answer: most likely no. if the answer were yes, you would not be able to afford it (cf choice of sago as a provider).

    -p
    * Rusko Enterprises LLC - Upgrade to 100% uptime today!
    * Premium NYC collocation and custom dedicated servers
    call 1-877-MY-RUSKO or paul [at] rusko.us

    dedicated servers, collocation, load balanced and high availability clusters

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Karachi, Pakistan
    Posts
    747
    You can cluster between two different data centers (assuming you would want to "combine" or harness the power of both the servers). but it would have latency of communicating data between the networks.

    If you would like to like have backups, so that if one server dies the other pops up or have some form of a load-balancing, then all you need is a geographical switch, something like F5 Networks 3DNS Switch (roughly a used one will run you about $1200-2000). That will very easily do what you are asking for. It will be able to load balance or geographically balance, based on an IP address.

    See this link for more application usages of a 3DNS Switch:
    http://www.f5networks.com/f5products...atedMaterials/
    "I drink too much. The last time I gave a urine sample it had an olive in it. ".
    Rodney Dangerfield (from "I Get No Respect!").

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    And when the network that F5 is on goes down so does your whole operation
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Karachi, Pakistan
    Posts
    747
    you can have a HA configuration of F5 in two different data centers!
    "I drink too much. The last time I gave a urine sample it had an olive in it. ".
    Rodney Dangerfield (from "I Get No Respect!").

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    5,765
    Now we're talking about $2400-$4000 just for the load balancers, and we still haven't gotten to clustering

    This topic comes up here every so often at WHT and it always ends up being a:

    If you're asking on WHT for how to do it, you most likely can't afford it

    type of thread.
    Mike from Zoodia.com
    Professional web design and development services.
    In need of a fresh hosting design? See what premade designs we have in stock!
    Web design tips, tricks, and more at MichaelPruitt.com

  9. #9
    Originally posted by Babushka99
    you can have a HA configuration of F5 in two different data centers!
    err, this isn't the hard part. now try to guarantee data consistency. what? you can't (outside the parameters i specified)? oh.

    -p
    * Rusko Enterprises LLC - Upgrade to 100% uptime today!
    * Premium NYC collocation and custom dedicated servers
    call 1-877-MY-RUSKO or paul [at] rusko.us

    dedicated servers, collocation, load balanced and high availability clusters

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    774
    Holyway, provide us with more information and we might be able to help you out. Round robin may even be a viable solution in this scenario, who knows?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    258
    Originally posted by shockuk
    Holyway, provide us with more information and we might be able to help you out. Round robin may even be a viable solution in this scenario, who knows?
    Well we planning take next server. So I think what to do with second server? Just take and setup new NS-records? In this way I cannot made windows for login gor my customer

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    953
    Holyway ... I think nobody will understand your last post. Please rewrite it in english !
    :: Martin Leclair
    :: Linkedin Profile

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    United States of America
    Posts
    1,838
    maybe talk to a sagonet rep i think a cluster could help a server thats getting swamped, they prolly wont charge you for the local bandwidth between servers and it could be something you could turn on and off
    Computer Steroids - Full service website development solutions since 2001.
    (612)234-2768 - Locally owned and operated in the Minneapolis, Minnesota area.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •