hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : Which Processor?
Reply

Forum Jump

Which Processor?

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2005, 04:39 PM
LP560 LP560 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tinterweb
Posts: 553
Question

Which Processor?


I have two servers one is going to be placed into a data centre, but I dont know which one I should use.

The first is a Dual PIII, each processor is 1GHZ so that 2GHZ all together.

The other is a AMD 1800+

Which one is the best, and which one should I place in the data centre.

Thanks



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-01-2005, 05:07 PM
eth00 eth00 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 2,951
It depends on the RAM and CPU cache of each. The P3 series had a few chips that had a lot of cache and bus speed way ahead of their time, if you have those chips I would definatly choose the P3.

__________________
John W, CISSP
MS Information Security and Assurance
www.yawig.com - Managed VPS and Dedicated Servers with VIP Service
www.eth0.us - Server Admin Info

  #3  
Old 08-01-2005, 05:37 PM
LP560 LP560 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tinterweb
Posts: 553
Both servers will have 1 GIG ram.
I think the PIII has a 256KB catch

Is there a code to find out in ssh?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 08-01-2005, 05:42 PM
Matt -Seeksadmin Matt -Seeksadmin is offline
Aspiring Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 419
Id personally use the P3, the architecture of dual CPU's can be very beneficial when you are running your server. For example, mysql set to run on one CPU, with apache on the other. Try multi-tasking ability.

  #5  
Old 08-01-2005, 05:52 PM
sehe sehe is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally posted by jm-computers
I think the PIII has a 256KB catch

Is there a code to find out in ssh?
try
Code:
cat /proc/cpuinfo

  #6  
Old 08-01-2005, 08:17 PM
riverpast riverpast is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 623
definitely dual P3.

1GH P3's performance is about the same as 1.3 to 1.4GHz P4. Two P3's and you get a good machine.

__________________
Convert video to your iPod

  #7  
Old 08-02-2005, 03:47 AM
LP560 LP560 is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tinterweb
Posts: 553
The AMD is a AMD 2800+ with a 512kb cache .
But the PIII is a dual 2GHZ each but has only got a 256KB cache.
Would you still recommend going for the PIII?

Thanks

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup – March 1, 2013 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:43:16
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup -- January 18, 2013 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:43:22
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup – December 28, 2012 Web Hosting News 2014-05-23 15:43:25
Codero Hosting Launches Private Cloud Hosting Service Web Hosting News 2012-12-12 16:33:50
SingleHop Offers Dedicated Server Discounts with its New Data Center Outlet Web Hosting News 2012-10-02 12:25:41


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?