Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1

    Hey Guys, Cms Needed ...

    hey Guys, well i need a CMS for my website ... www.internetshakers.com

    Any recommendation ????

    I am quite budgeted or i would say if someone would like to sponsor a CMS i would advertise for him in my website for a year.

    Any possibilites for discussion is welcome.

    Thanks,
    Marcus.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga
    Posts
    8,985
    Marcus,

    Personally I would recommend e107 or vanilla:

    Vanilla is more of a forum though and may not suit your needs.
    Nonetheless check it out here:

    http://getvanilla.com/

    and e107 (one of the top rated CMS's on http://www.opensourcecms.com ) is available at http://www.e107.org

    Outside of that: I'd only recommend maaaaybe mambo but I don't like it overall.
    David
    Web hosting by Fused For businesses with more important things to do than worry about their hosting.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    797

  4. #4
    Originally posted by David
    Marcus,

    Personally I would recommend e107 or vanilla:

    Vanilla is more of a forum though and may not suit your needs.
    Nonetheless check it out here:

    http://getvanilla.com/

    and e107 (one of the top rated CMS's on http://www.opensourcecms.com ) is available at http://www.e107.org

    Outside of that: I'd only recommend maaaaybe mambo but I don't like it overall.
    Hi David,

    Thanks for your recommendation.

    I tried e107 but i got difficulties in creating new custom page because i am using a mac and the custom page thingy had a windows installer execution file.

    So ... ya .... u know.

    Mambo, tried it, been there, took a t-shirt, done there, might not be good for a long term run ....

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,366
    There's also Mambo and ExpressionEngine / pMachine.

    EDIT: Beat me to it.
    - Matt

  6. #6
    Originally posted by Ivan23
    Try www.subdreamer.com
    Hi Ivan,

    Nice of you to post, well i love subdreamer but its overly budgeted .... so it a no no unless ... well .... unless someone willing to sponsor that ... then i be glad or more glad to advertise his website in my website.

    Thanks for you post, IVAN!

    Marcus.

  7. #7
    Originally posted by Blankwire
    There's also Mambo and ExpressionEngine / pMachine.

    EDIT: Beat me to it.

    Yup ... mambo server is great so is pmachine - ExpressionEngine, they beat me with the overall but its overly budgeted for me.

    Thanks bro!

    Marcus.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga
    Posts
    8,985
    Marcus,

    You can disable that 'popup' WYSIWYG editor within the preferences if it was causing issues with your browser.

    It's also not included in the latest version either.
    David
    Web hosting by Fused For businesses with more important things to do than worry about their hosting.

  9. #9
    Originally posted by David
    Marcus,

    You can disable that 'popup' WYSIWYG editor within the preferences if it was causing issues with your browser.

    It's also not included in the latest version either.
    ya ok .... i think i'm using a mac so ... i cant used e107 to easily custom a page.

  10. #10
    Originally posted by David
    Marcus,

    You can disable that 'popup' WYSIWYG editor within the preferences if it was causing issues with your browser.

    It's also not included in the latest version either.
    Hey David,

    What CMS are u using in your website - shoutlast?

    Marcus.

    King David kills the Phillistines Goliath!!!! Yeah! yeah! yeah!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    1,235
    Originally posted by Marcus Lau
    Hi David,

    Thanks for your recommendation.

    I tried e107 but i got difficulties in creating new custom page because i am using a mac and the custom page thingy had a windows installer execution file.

    So ... ya .... u know.

    Mambo, tried it, been there, took a t-shirt, done there, might not be good for a long term run ....

    Thanks.
    using custom pages should really be done by simple templating.

    eg:
    PHP Code:
    <?php

    require_once("/class2.php");
    require_once(
    HEADERF);
    include(
    "anything.you.need.php");

    // you can use your own php functions, this is one from my newsfeeds plugin

    $menu SomeCode($channel,$feed,$max);

    // you then render the code or just paste your html

    $ns->tablerender("<br />","<div style='text-align:center'><br />".$menu."</div>");

    require_once(
    FOOTERF);
    ?>
    you could try a beta version of e107 0.7, i use it on my site (see sig)

    get e107 0.7 (beta) it's far better for custom pages, now all handled by the site code, in your browser.
    <erno> hm. I've lost a machine.. literally _lost_. it responds to ping, it works completely, I just can't figure out where in my apartment it is.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    1,235
    Originally posted by Marcus Lau
    Hey David,

    What CMS are u using in your website - shoutlast?

    Marcus.

    King David kills the Phillistines Goliath!!!! Yeah! yeah! yeah!
    that's e107

    right davvy boy?
    <erno> hm. I've lost a machine.. literally _lost_. it responds to ping, it works completely, I just can't figure out where in my apartment it is.

  13. #13
    Originally posted by ALGORYTHM
    using custom pages should really be done by simple templating.

    eg:
    PHP Code:
    <?php

    require_once("/class2.php");
    require_once(
    HEADERF);
    include(
    "anything.you.need.php");

    // you can use your own php functions, this is one from my newsfeeds plugin

    $menu SomeCode($channel,$feed,$max);

    // you then render the code or just paste your html

    $ns->tablerender("<br />","<div style='text-align:center'><br />".$menu."</div>");

    require_once(
    FOOTERF);
    ?>
    you could try a beta version of e107 0.7, i use it on my site (see sig)

    get e107 0.7 (beta) it's far better for custom pages, now all handled by the site code, in your browser.
    Simple templating? You meant paste :

    PHP Code:
    <?php

    require_once("/class2.php");
    require_once(
    HEADERF);
    include(
    "anything.you.need.php");

    // you can use your own php functions, this is one from my newsfeeds plugin

    $menu SomeCode($channel,$feed,$max);

    // you then render the code or just paste your html

    $ns->tablerender("<br />","<div style='text-align:center'><br />".$menu."</div>");

    require_once(
    FOOTERF);
    ?>
    and then edit in the -> // you then render the code or just paste your html

    upload and run and of course after setting up the custom page??

    Is is that you are refering? Algothrim???

    Thanks for your kind advice!

    Marcus.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    1,235
    well i guess i should explain it in a little more detail. the basics needed for a custom page in e107 are:
    PHP Code:
    <?php

    require_once("/class2.php");
    require_once(
    HEADERF);
    ?>
    <h1>Example HTML content ONLY</h1>
    <p>Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Duis in ante at libero imperdiet tincidunt. Quisque tincidunt, elit in porta venenatis, leo nulla mollis dui, id viverra tortor augue ut urna. Nullam velit. Nam imperdiet pede non nibh. Curabitur urna urna, nonummy in, rhoncus a, tristique non, lectus. Vivamus vel nisl. Ut porttitor vulputate urna. Aliquam erat volutpat. Duis justo. Praesent eu enim. Nunc id erat sed nunc viverra interdum. Donec consequat. Morbi sed neque. Nunc bibendum. Mauris porttitor dictum nunc. Suspendisse potenti. Nunc molestie mollis neque.</p>
    <?php
    require_once(FOOTERF);
    ?>
    for php content:
    PHP Code:
    <?php 

    require_once("/class2.php"); 
    require_once(
    HEADERF); 

    $title "Content with PHP";
    $content "Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Duis in ante at libero imperdiet tincidunt. Quisque tincidunt, elit in porta venenatis, leo nulla mollis dui, id viverra tortor augue ut urna. Nullam velit. Nam imperdiet pede non nibh. Curabitur urna urna, nonummy in, rhoncus a, tristique non, lectus. Vivamus vel nisl. Ut porttitor vulputate urna. Aliquam erat volutpat. Duis justo. Praesent eu enim. Nunc id erat sed nunc viverra interdum. Donec consequat. Morbi sed neque. Nunc bibendum. Mauris porttitor dictum nunc. Suspendisse potenti. Nunc molestie mollis neque.";

    $ns->tablerender($title$content); 

    require_once(
    FOOTERF); 
    ?>
    the main difference between these is that using raw html in the first example allows you to set up the structure and styles exactly as you want. in the second example the content will be structured and rendered according to the current theme's $tablerender function.

    it's simple enough for me i guess but you might want to experiment.
    <erno> hm. I've lost a machine.. literally _lost_. it responds to ping, it works completely, I just can't figure out where in my apartment it is.

  15. #15
    Originally posted by ALGORYTHM
    well i guess i should explain it in a little more detail. the basics needed for a custom page in e107 are:
    PHP Code:
    <?php

    require_once("/class2.php");
    require_once(
    HEADERF);
    ?>
    <h1>Example HTML content ONLY</h1>
    <p>Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Duis in ante at libero imperdiet tincidunt. Quisque tincidunt, elit in porta venenatis, leo nulla mollis dui, id viverra tortor augue ut urna. Nullam velit. Nam imperdiet pede non nibh. Curabitur urna urna, nonummy in, rhoncus a, tristique non, lectus. Vivamus vel nisl. Ut porttitor vulputate urna. Aliquam erat volutpat. Duis justo. Praesent eu enim. Nunc id erat sed nunc viverra interdum. Donec consequat. Morbi sed neque. Nunc bibendum. Mauris porttitor dictum nunc. Suspendisse potenti. Nunc molestie mollis neque.</p>
    <?php
    require_once(FOOTERF);
    ?>
    for php content:
    PHP Code:
    <?php 

    require_once("/class2.php"); 
    require_once(
    HEADERF); 

    $title "Content with PHP";
    $content "Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Duis in ante at libero imperdiet tincidunt. Quisque tincidunt, elit in porta venenatis, leo nulla mollis dui, id viverra tortor augue ut urna. Nullam velit. Nam imperdiet pede non nibh. Curabitur urna urna, nonummy in, rhoncus a, tristique non, lectus. Vivamus vel nisl. Ut porttitor vulputate urna. Aliquam erat volutpat. Duis justo. Praesent eu enim. Nunc id erat sed nunc viverra interdum. Donec consequat. Morbi sed neque. Nunc bibendum. Mauris porttitor dictum nunc. Suspendisse potenti. Nunc molestie mollis neque.";

    $ns->tablerender($title$content); 

    require_once(
    FOOTERF); 
    ?>
    the main difference between these is that using raw html in the first example allows you to set up the structure and styles exactly as you want. in the second example the content will be structured and rendered according to the current theme's $tablerender function.

    it's simple enough for me i guess but you might want to experiment.
    OK I somehow get what you mean .... thanks for your guidance ALGORYTHM!

    Take care!

    Marcus.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Chattanooga
    Posts
    8,985
    Originally posted by Marcus Lau
    Hey David,

    What CMS are u using in your website - shoutlast?

    Marcus.

    King David kills the Phillistines Goliath!!!! Yeah! yeah! yeah!
    Marcus,

    I currently use e107 on all of my sites actually.
    Shoutlast is another example of e107 (and with no custom configuration)
    David
    Web hosting by Fused For businesses with more important things to do than worry about their hosting.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •