Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1,441

    Can this AMD Proc play BF2

    I'm just wondering if the follow PC can play BF2.

    This is what I have:

    AMD XP 2500 Barton (i think it's clocked at 1.8 ghz or less)
    512 DDR RAM
    80 GB IDE

    I am planning to get ATI RADEON 9800 PRO (OEM 128 MB).

    Do you guys think it can play BF2 decently?

    Thanks
    Synergy Blue LLC
    SonataWeb.net | SynergyBlue.com
    USA should so something about: http://www.brillig.com/debt_clock/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    175
    Your better off if you have at least 768MB of ram and probably should have 1 gig instead. Processor is probably fine.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Goleta, CA
    Posts
    5,550
    Double the RAM and it'll probably do fine. RAM is so cheap now it's money well spent.
    Patron: I'd like my free lunch please.
    Cafe Manager: Free lunch? Did you read the fine print stating it was an April Fool's joke.
    Patron: I read the same way I listen, I ignore the parts I don't agree with. I'm suing you for false advertising.
    Cafe Owner: Is our lawyer still working pro bono?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    1,441
    thank you for your insight.
    Synergy Blue LLC
    SonataWeb.net | SynergyBlue.com
    USA should so something about: http://www.brillig.com/debt_clock/

  5. #5
    Runs well on mine.

    AMD XP 1800
    SoundBlaster Audigy2 ZS
    MS XP PRO SP2
    nVidia Geforce 5700LE 256Mb DDR Ram
    2Gb DDR Dual Channel PC-3200

    /me needs to buy a laptop soon
    ^_^

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,641
    Dont get the 9800 pro. It seems to have some issues with BF2. I have it and cant play the game with the settings on anything other than low with out everything getting all pixelated and looking like a Jackson Pollack painting. My friend got the 9600xt from newegg and it smokes my 9800pro, it was about $40 cheaper also. Hope this helps.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Southwest Florida
    Posts
    955
    Originally posted by ResellersHQ
    Dont get the 9800 pro. It seems to have some issues with BF2. I have it and cant play the game with the settings on anything other than low with out everything getting all pixelated and looking like a Jackson Pollack painting. My friend got the 9600xt from newegg and it smokes my 9800pro, it was about $40 cheaper also. Hope this helps.
    Sounds like you over-clocked it, or you just got a bad card.

    I've had an MSI 9800 Pro work perfectly and superbly in about 95% of my games.

    I'd suggest you get yours repaired under warranty.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    175
    Originally posted by ResellersHQ
    Dont get the 9800 pro. It seems to have some issues with BF2. I have it and cant play the game with the settings on anything other than low with out everything getting all pixelated and looking like a Jackson Pollack painting. My friend got the 9600xt from newegg and it smokes my 9800pro, it was about $40 cheaper also. Hope this helps.
    I have the 9800PRO with 256 and have no isses at all.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    754
    Originally posted by ResellersHQ
    Dont get the 9800 pro. It seems to have some issues with BF2. I have it and cant play the game with the settings on anything other than low with out everything getting all pixelated and looking like a Jackson Pollack painting. My friend got the 9600xt from newegg and it smokes my 9800pro, it was about $40 cheaper also. Hope this helps.
    I am able to run BF2 with everything on HIGH with my 9800pro (Athlon64 3200+, 1024mb ram), like everyone else says, send it back under warranty.

    VapoRub: Your 2500+ should do the job no worries
    -Chris
    "There are 10 kinds of people; those who understand binary, and those who don't."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Fairfax, Virginia
    Posts
    6,835
    Originally posted by ResellersHQ
    . . . everything getting all pixelated and looking like a Jackson Pollack painting. .
    Hey, don't insult Jackson Pollock; his art is kind of cool, really.

  11. #11
    I have the same processor, with 768MB RAM, and a 9700PRO - and the demo runs great on high.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    7,391
    Just turn the settings down and try closing all other running applications off such as AIM, IRC, Outlook, IE etc... and it should run fine
    CirtexHosting Providing Affordable and Quality Web Hosting & Reseller Hosting since 2003
    LINUX based cPANEL/WHM Shared and Reseller Web Hosting with Fantastico
    HostV VPS Premium Virtual Private Servers & Dedicated Servers powered by cPanel/WHM
    We transfer your sites over quickly! I eat penguins for breakfast ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •