Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. #1

    Help me with these unroutable emails please

    I have got a problem with forums and shopping carts sending mails. whenever they send them to yahoo.co.uk or hotmail.com (they are just two examples) i get a bounced message that the domain is unrouteable. Yet when testing to see if i can send to those domains via outlook express i dont get that message and the email is delivered correctly.
    Please help as this is driving me round the bend.

    Nick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    1,490
    are you own server? which MTA you use?
    Rustelekom LLC Dedicated server since 2002, RIPE NCC member, LIR, AS51168

  3. #3
    yes it is our own server, not sure what you mean by mta though

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    1,490
    MTA = mail transport agent.
    are you use exim? can you five little more information about your system: O/S, control panel software, etc.
    Rustelekom LLC Dedicated server since 2002, RIPE NCC member, LIR, AS51168

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    79
    You can test your domain and mailserver for various kind of problems here:

    http://www.dnsreport.com/

    It gives quite detailed report with explanations.

  6. #6
    Yes we use exim.
    fedora core 2, cpanel 10.2.0.R82
    Someone has just told me that there are plenty of problems with email in cpanel at the moment and that updating the configuration should fix this. When i try to update, it just hangs there and does nothing.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    1,490
    first you need your resolv.conf file. are you able whois any domain from you machine? if no, you need correct your resolv.conf
    if you can whois, try exim -bt [email protected] (but address must be a real email address). if your exim will show something about domains MX record, try update your exim by /scripts/eximup --force, if it will show unroutable domain again, try check what not correct in your machine network setup. if you using any firewall - try disable it.
    Rustelekom LLC Dedicated server since 2002, RIPE NCC member, LIR, AS51168

  8. #8

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    1,490
    no, this is not correct of course. this is showed that problem exist in exim itself. try update it as showed above. if this again not help you, check your exim configuration files. most likely something incorrect in config files. also check exim logfiles - main, panic, reject. if you not found nothing strange in config files or log files, scheck localdomains for domain to which you can't send message.
    Rustelekom LLC Dedicated server since 2002, RIPE NCC member, LIR, AS51168

  10. #10
    when trying to update cpanel and even exim on its own it just hangs, do you know why this may happen

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    1,490
    on which stage?
    Rustelekom LLC Dedicated server since 2002, RIPE NCC member, LIR, AS51168

  12. #12
    Found hostname to be server.yourdomain.com, which resolves to 61.122.345.1
    Hostname Virtual Host is already setup

    that is as far as it gets when updating cpanel.

    Now for exim no matter which build i choose it gives me this

    Exim Setup Script Version 17.0
    Fetching version information from http://updates.cpanel.net/eximinstall/version (STABLE)....Done

    then it just hangs.

    can you help at all

  13. #13
    Originally posted by ndhosting
    Found hostname to be server.yourdomain.com, which resolves to 61.122.345.1
    Hostname Virtual Host is already setup

    that is as far as it gets when updating cpanel.

    Now for exim no matter which build i choose it gives me this

    Exim Setup Script Version 17.0
    Fetching version information from http://updates.cpanel.net/eximinstall/version (STABLE)....Done

    then it just hangs.

    can you help at all
    Drop your firewall and then try update.

    What version of cPanel are you running? Stable, Release or Current? Try running on Current version. I found this personally to be the most reliable.

  14. #14
    I have tried dropping the firewall but it still hangs in the same place for all releases.
    I have changed around the release update settings i cant actually remember what it was originally. It was either Release or Current.
    the current version number is 10.2.0.R82

  15. #15
    Try to run this command

    /etc/init.d/iptables stop

    This will stop iptables. Then try and run again.

    You can also try and force from a ssh command line.

    /scripts/upcp --force

    If this continues, I would suggest putting a ticket in with cPanel.

  16. #16
    yes i have just tried that as well and it doesnt work. Looks like ticket with cpanel is the way to go.

    Thanks for your help

  17. #17
    They are usually prompt with handling tickets. Good Luck!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    1,378
    Server has to resolve CPanels server first, make sure your /etc/resolv.conf file has all the correct settings otherwise you wouldnt be able to get proper updates, will also cause exim to fail, exim and iptables dont mix very well.

    host cpanel.net

    Should respond with two different IP addresses, with the right settings in resolv.conf, if it does try resetting exim itself /scripts/eximup --force

    all else fails, reboot, after reboot run

    iptables --flush

    Keep in mind if you do not have your own Cpanel license they wont support you via ticket they will ask you to ask your provider first, unless you get a nice tech who wants to help, just from experience.

  19. #19
    it gives the two ip's and i have tried the rebooting and still no joy. I have created a ticket with cpanel and explained that the vendor doesnt want to know. Fingers crossed it wont be long.

  20. #20
    I have created a ticket and the initial response was quick. the suggested that when it sticks to hit Ctrl + c which i have done but it still wont go any further than below. Anyone that has any help whilst waiting on the cpanel support i would be greatful.

    [email protected] [/scripts]# /scripts/upcp --force
    Found hostname to be server.*********.****, which resolves to 6*******
    Hostname Virtual Host is already setup
    PHP version file is up to date
    Ftp Quota Check v1.0
    Updating itsall3:tlcadmin....Done
    Updating itsall3:tlc....Done
    Updating itsall3:lincolnbowl....Done
    Updating garethparky....Done
    Updating garethaul....Done
    Updating gareth:game....Done
    Updating bowski:buford....Done
    Updating adamw:hat....Done
    Doing a manual update...
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
    Checking /dev/hda....x - creating lock directory
    x - SKIPPING /usr/local/lib/php.ini (file already exists)
    Ftp Setup Script Version 6.0
    Fetching version information from http://updates.cpanel.net/ftpinstall/version (RELEASE)....Done
    Edit/Delete Message

    i have also noticed that it doesnt show the following like it should.

    Checking /dev/hda....OK
    Checking /dev/hdb....OK

    sometimes it will show hda as ok othertimes it wont and other times it wont show either.
    Edit/Delete Message

  21. #21
    This problem has now been fixed by the vendor after finally getting someone who knew what they were talking about. They did the following.

    As it was stopping at the Fetch section i disabled the firewall and iptable rules and tried to run the ftp updater alone by itself, than upcp worked.

    That is odd as i am sure we did that earlier. Well it now appears to be working fine.

  22. #22
    Yes I remember telling you to drop the firewall. Good to hear all is well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •