Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    306

    is there any hosting support wild card domain name

    is there any hosting support wild card domain name

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Northamptonshire, UK
    Posts
    324
    What exactly do you mean by this? Can you elaborate on what you eman by 'wild card domain'.
    Mick Beeby
    www.reyaltec.com - Quality Helm Dedicated, Reseller & Shared Windows 2003 Hosting. UK & US based servers.
    www.aspbite.com - Modular ASP Content Management System

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    301
    I think you may mean host that support wildcard as part of the mysql data base set up?

    If so most hosts will support this via cpanel.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Orlando FL
    Posts
    1,342
    Are you talking about SSL Wild Card?
    Jorge Campos | WBpro
    Web Building Professionals
    www.wbpro.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    301
    Yes, i think you may to explain a little better dark.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    306
    forexample i have a domain abc.com , i set up *.abc.com to point to a folder in my site. then when i enter any subdomain name like fun.abc.com,lala.abc.com and more , will automatically go to the folder

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Quad Cities, Iowa
    Posts
    1,597
    What you are referring to is a sub-domain. I don't know any host that offers wildcard sub-domains, but a Web Host who uses cPanel will probably meet your needs.

    With cPanel you are able to create sub-domains easily and you can choose which directory the sub-domain points to.
    Need a new Web Host?
    Become a Host Refugee and receive TRUE 24/7 Support

    cPanel + Fantastico, PHP4 or PHP5
    HostRefugee.com - See our current promotions

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    1,490
    you will need not only *.abc.com ServerName and ServerAlias in httpd.conf but also you will need *.abc.com in zone files.
    But, this type of subdomain creating and using is not compatible with Cpanel, Directadmin, Hsphere control panel software and not supported. But, you may try realize your request with mod_rewrite rules.
    Rustelekom LLC Dedicated server since 2002, RIPE NCC member, LIR, AS51168

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Miami FL
    Posts
    288
    I thought DirectAdmin gave users access to custom httpd.conf, did things change (havent used it in a while)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    34
    I haven't had any problems on a VPS or dedi running cPanel/WHM. Just a line in the zone file and update httpd.conf like worldhosting mentioned.
    Scriptalicous - Scripts with flavor.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    73
    I'm (fairly) sure that direct admin supports subdomain names.

    Personally, for wildcard subdomains I use HTTP://ZONEEDIT.COM, unfortunately you would need direct access to the httpd.conf to make this work properly. But zonedit.com provide the DNS services for free.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    306
    hi, so is there any host that allow you to access httpd.conf

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    231
    I can help you. I already use an application with wildcard. Working very well on my cPanel server
    Last edited by mtrc; 08-03-2005 at 08:15 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •