Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Satyr, Chrisalya, Canada
    Posts
    1,901

    Server Mobo w/64GB RAM capacity

    http://news.softpedia.com/news/IWILL...DDR-5637.shtml
    IWILL is releasing world's first high-memory capacity workstation and server board. IWILL DK88, based on AMD Opteron platform, can support up to 64GB memory. This solution is specially designed for the memory-intensive applications, and allows the most applications, especially in EDA/CAD/ rendering fields, running faster and more stable.
    I bet that'd serve web pages quite nice.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    5,441
    And I bet less than two dozen hosts here could afford one

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,663

    Re: Server Mobo w/64GB RAM capacity

    Originally posted by MStar
    I bet that'd serve web pages quite nice.
    Oh that, I'm sure .

    Originally posted by DanX
    And I bet less than two dozen hosts here could afford one
    I bet less than six.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,305
    Two CPU's only? Might be great for MySQL if they can put more CPU's on there =)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    5,441
    Hmm. $100/1GB ram, 6400 for the RAM alone, I'd say $10k for the box altogether? That isn't too much for a decent host.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    South Daytona, FL
    Posts
    2,476
    Nice, but I'd rather have the Tyan S4881GN2NR, 64GB ram but with four processors. In September they are releasing a daughterboard that lets you add another four processors and another 64 GB of ram. http://tyan.com/products/html/thunderk8qw.html
    "Arms discourage and keep the invader and plunderer in awe, and preserve order in the world as well as property... Horrid mischief would ensue were the law-abiding deprived of the use of them." - Thomas Paine

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,305
    What can't you do with eight Opertons and 128 MB of ram, heh.

  8. #8
    Thats nice, i cant afford that though.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    7,391
    Looks really nice...not likely any hosting companies are going to buy it though..we can all stare at it and drool
    █• CirtexHosting Providing Affordable and Quality Web Hosting & Reseller Hosting since 2003
    █• LINUX based cPANEL/WHM Shared and Reseller Web Hosting with Fantastico
    █• HostV VPS Premium Virtual Private Servers & Dedicated Servers powered by cPanel/WHM
    █• We transfer your sites over quickly! I eat penguins for breakfast ...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,428
    I'd rather get a solid-state harddrive(RAM drive, but large capacity) and run the swap off that. It'll be slightly less faster than RAM(due to it using the PCI-X bus, rather than memory bus), but it'll be available to any motherboard these days.
    Can you be scared half to death twice?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    La Habra, CA
    Posts
    1,775
    Hmm looks like Im going to have to take a 2nd mortgage and put it up to see how good it handles :p

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •