Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: DNS issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    847

    DNS issue

    Hi

    In my new server I have three sites on it

    when I access any domain with www example

    http://www.domain.com

    it goes to the main site (another domain)

    but when I access any domain without www example

    http://domain.com

    it goes to the wanted site

    any idea ??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    445
    Check the CNAME entry for the sites in question

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    847
    www 14400 CNAME domain.com.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    419
    Hey buddy, Check this for me:

    !!!!!!!!! MAKE BACKUPS !!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Load up your httpd.conf file and check that this is in there:
    Code:
    ServerName www.domain.com 
    ServerAlias domain.com *.domain.com
    Note: you probably don't need the asterix in front, thats just a bit of debug.

    Then it might get a bit trickier
    1) cd /var/named
    2) ls -al
    3) Edit the config file for your domain
    4) Now, the first number is a serial number to identify changes to the file, so change it to the current YYYYMMDD (Just make sure that number is more than the original)
    5) Then underneath that you will find something like
    Code:
    www.domain.com.        IN      A       127.0.0.1
    Underneath that, place
    Code:
    domain.com.        IN      A       127.0.0.1
    Tell me if that helps and doesn't screw up your DNS
    MAKE BACKUPS!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    847
    Hi

    I tried to add
    www.domain.com. IN A 127.0.0.1

    but iy shows
    There were errors in the new zone which have been highlighted below, please press the back button an try again!

    www.domain.com. 14400 IN A 127.0.0.1
    www.domain.com: CNAME and other data

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    419
    why are you adding the www.domain.com ? =|
    add the domain.com without the www!

    See if that httpd.conf is right.

    I must be off now, sorry mate... I can check again in a few hours.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    847
    HI

    I don't know whats happen but it's ok now

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •