Domain Name Propagation vs. IP Address

Ok I am having a bit of a tiff with my hosting company. I asked them to install a subdomain which they did. However after waiting a day for the DNS to propagate, the site changed to a weird "Apache welcome" screen. That's fine, except nothing I do changes the content of the site.

Now as I understand it, I should be able to go directly to the IP address of my site without waiting for it to propagate, right? So if they tell me an IP address for my subdomain and I go there and it's clearly not right, then the problem is on their end?

I am pretty new to this but I keep sending them emails and they keep telling me to wait for it to propagate. But that is silly if IP addresses do not propagate!

Just wanted to double check with you knowledgeable folks before I called them again and made a fool of myself.

PS - Also, they have given me different IP addresses for my domain and my subdomain - is that usual?

Thats not usual, and I think they mistakenly put your subdomain to another server if you have not asked for it. Give us the URL let us check.
    http://www.exploitx.com
    Its all about exploits and latest bugs!

My URL is www.forbeans.com

My subdomain is gifts.forbeans.com

Have a look at your DNS report for forbeans.com
    http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsre...n=forbeans.com
    and then a DNS lookup for gifts.forbeans.com
    http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/lookup...ans.com&type=A
    Usually you need a dedicated IP to run SSL so I guess gifts.forbeans.com is meant to be your shopping cart which is running SSL thats why you are on a different IP but its not on a different server !
    Hope that helped a little
    █ AUSWEB Web Hosting
    VPS Hosting with Virtuozzo or OpenVZ
    Dedicated Servers DELL servers running Windows or Linux

Wait wait wait...

I am on shared webhosting.. I don't have a dedicated server. And it's not meant to be SSL, just a subdomain! I just liked the name better than the generic www.forbeans.com.