hosted by liquidweb


Go Back   Web Hosting Talk : Web Hosting Main Forums : Hosting Security and Technology : 1 domain for each nameserver?
Reply

Forum Jump

1 domain for each nameserver?

Reply Post New Thread In Hosting Security and Technology Subscription
 
Send news tip View All Posts Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2002, 06:18 PM
protector330 protector330 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 125
Question

1 domain for each nameserver?


I guess this is a stupid question, but its better to get an answer to a stupid question... rather than stay stupid forever

can I do something like this?

DOMAIN-NAME-ONE.COM -> for nameserver1
DOMAIN-NAME-TWO.COM -> for nameserver 2


but without adding subdomains? I've found 2 nice domains wich would look so nice in my whois info without subdomain

thanks for any info



Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-31-2002, 06:37 PM
webx webx is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 791
Nope

did i break your heart?

Reason is that nameserver needs to be registered with root servers through registrar. And a nameserver can only be a sub-domain of another domain. You can not make a domain itself as a nameserver.

What you can do is,

ns.domain-name-one.com
ns.domain-name-two.com

just by adding ns to the start of it makes it elite

__________________
Dedicated Servers cPanel Shared/Reseller Hosting
Linux/Windows VPS Backups Cloud Colocation
Webx Networks Serving world wide since 1997


  #3  
Old 03-31-2002, 07:22 PM
protector330 protector330 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 125
how sad but ok, I will put a ns. in front of them and pay for this luxury nameservers twice instead of all the "non luxury" editions around

Sponsored Links
  #4  
Old 03-31-2002, 09:01 PM
willypeake willypeake is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mountain View, Arkansas
Posts: 15
Unclear on the Concept but...

If you want to provide a dns server for a domain, can't you just enter the ip number/s for the dns server/s at the registrar of the domain name?

  #5  
Old 04-01-2002, 08:55 AM
priyadi priyadi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Depok, Indonesia
Posts: 986
Re: 1 domain for each nameserver?

Quote:
Originally posted by protector330
I guess this is a stupid question, but its better to get an answer to a stupid question... rather than stay stupid forever

can I do something like this?

DOMAIN-NAME-ONE.COM -> for nameserver1
DOMAIN-NAME-TWO.COM -> for nameserver 2


but without adding subdomains? I've found 2 nice domains wich would look so nice in my whois info without subdomain

thanks for any info
Technically DNS allows you to do that as long as you have A record(s) for DOMAIN-NAME-ONE.COM and DOMAIN-NAME-TWO.COM.

However, some registries might put additional restriction to it.

  #6  
Old 04-01-2002, 09:18 AM
kcoster kcoster is offline
Junior Guru Wannabe
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 54
Like this you mean, not sure about .com though ?

Domain Name: PRIMARY-DNS.CO.UK

Registered For: Andrews and Arnold Ltd

Domain Registered By: AAISP

Registered on 28-Apr-2000.

Record last updated on 08-Feb-2002 by a@aa.nu.

Domain servers listed in order:

PRIMARY-DNS.CO.UK 217.169.20.20
SECONDARY-DNS.CO.UK 194.74.197.130

WHOIS database last updated at 02:37:47 01-Apr-2002

The NIC.UK Registration Host contains information ONLY for
registrations in the co.uk, org.uk, net.uk, ltd.uk, plc.uk,
sch.uk and me.uk second-level domains.

  #7  
Old 04-02-2002, 02:01 AM
webx webx is offline
Web Hosting Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 791
protector330,

This is possible. I have not tested it, so can not confirm, but you must try Ignore my earlier post

priyadi is right, you just need an A record. so that DOMAIN-NAME-ONE.COM can resolve to an IP.

But for an A record of DOMAIN-NAME-ONE.COM you will need two other nameservers.

Now another thing is that your registrar allows you to add DOMAIN-NAME-ONE.COM in nameservers.

Try it

__________________
Dedicated Servers cPanel Shared/Reseller Hosting
Linux/Windows VPS Backups Cloud Colocation
Webx Networks Serving world wide since 1997


  #8  
Old 04-02-2002, 04:11 AM
protector330 protector330 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 125
ok! I will try

Reply

Related posts from TheWhir.com
Title Type Date Posted
Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - February 7, 2014 Web Hosting News 2014-02-07 17:52:16
Nigeria Internet Registration Association Offers Free ccTLDs to Encourage .ng Domain Adoption Web Hosting News 2014-01-02 14:46:24
Office 365 Integrates GoDaddy Domain Name Registration Web Hosting News 2013-10-09 13:18:05
123-reg Launches Domain Reselling Service on Global Domain Marketplace Web Hosting News 2013-06-19 14:48:10
Nominet Temporarily Forced to Ditch Plans for Shorter .UK Domains Web Hosting News 2013-03-18 10:19:10


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump
Login:
Log in with your username and password
Username:
Password:



Forgot Password?
Advertisement:
Web Hosting News:



 

X

Welcome to WebHostingTalk.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

WebHostingTalk.com is the largest, most influentual web hosting community on the Internet. Join us by filling in the form below.


(4 digit year)

Already a member?