How to market your hosting services?

Hi,

I'm a newbie is webhosting industry. Could anybody enlighten me on how to promote web hosting services?It could be an online method or physical.

Any input is much appreciated.

I am relatively new at this also. I am not expecting enormous growth right away, but this is what I have done.

I have submitted a listing to a website called marketingtool.com. It has a web hosting directory divided by state. I also made fliers and mailed them to all the PO Boxes in the town I live in and some neighboring towns. Alot of them are smaller businesses and trying to maximize their exposure. I got a few accounts so far that way.

I know this is pretty basic and small, but just starting out I already have my first month's expenses paid for doing it this way.

Thanks for your reply.

Sending fliers to neighbouring?Does it really work?Any problem with authorities such as mailbox "spamming"?

OK, if you have choices between telephone support and email support (fast response within 1-2 hrs). Which would you prefer?

If you found out that the support of your hosting company is sub to another location (letz say asian countries), what is you expectation for that company?

I think as a start email support would be a good start and should reduce your operating cost. Most clients would not mind not having access to phone support if their emails can be answered in a short period.

As for finding out that your support have been outsourced, I personally would not mind that as long as things get done and problems get resolved. In fact there are many hosting companies that have started outsourcing their support to some Asian countries such as India.

What i believe is 1st world country clients would not want to deal with 3rd world countries support (lower standard). Is that true?