* Hosts, packages & unix etc (confused newbie)

I'm totally new to web design and I currently have a free Bravenet website (which I made using their simple 'web wizard' tool).

I'm looking for a web hosting package which would give me a fair amount of space and be very reliable (as I'd need it for hosting a picture gallery and for downloading images into Ebay), but I've no idea who to go with and what I should be looking for...

I know enough html to make decent web pages up, but I don't know exactly how to store and send finished pages if you know what I mean. I don't know about using FTP etc so I'd be wanting a host that offers some kind of editing program like Bravenet does (one that still gives you total freedom to design though, NOT templates).

If anyone knows what I'm talking about then can you recommend any good hosts?

Oh yeah, and could someone please explain to me what these packages are?: I'm not allowed to post a link yet, but they're from Storm Internet

Are unix, asp etc just platforms for hosting your website, or is it like a program which you need to learn? I mean, can you make up an ASP hosted site with normal html?

Are unix, asp etc just platforms for hosting your website, or is it like a program which you need to learn? I mean, can you make up an ASP hosted site with normal html?