Thread: Need Good Host

Need Good Host

hi im new at all this web hosting searching etc so.. i have no idea wat are some good hosts.... im currently working a page for a toys site where there will be a forums and a disscussion box for every toy.. (around 400+ toys) so... im wondering wat are some good hosts and wat are your comments on the place?

I guess it really comes down to what your needs are.

Do you have the scripting that you are going to use or do you need the host to provide it?

Do you need cgi? PhP?

What kind of database setup do you need? MySQL?
    We keep the database on a seperate server so that it doesn't slow down any of our clients, so that is always a good idea too.

<<Snipped self promotion>>

No one host is the best for everyone, that's why there are so many hosting companies out there. Depends on what you need.

Good luck to you.
    Last edited by anon-e-mouse; 07-12-2005 at 01:04 AM.
    The Best Custom Computers Are Built By: Custom Perfect.com Hundreds of Custom Cases Available

Low Cost - High Quality Domain Hosting

I suggest the Host Quote feature.
    WHT's Own Tekster

Do i have a "Technical Support" sign on my back?
    Listen To Tekster Radio!

Originally posted by CustomPerfection
    I guess it really comes down to what your needs are.

Do you have the scripting that you are going to use or do you need the host to provide it?

Do you need cgi? PhP?

What kind of database setup do you need? MySQL?
    ok.. so theres gonna be forums, discussion boxes like big ones and flash... so theres gonna be php and could you explain wats MySQL? im new at this hosting stuff so im not THAT experienced

MySQL is a database system type. Most forums use MySQL as a backend. Most chats (non-IRC) use MySQL as well.
    WHT's Own Tekster

Listen To Tekster Radio!

speX714,